How To Search Tutorials
- Picking Your TopicThis video explains the research process and provides effective strategies for producing a robust research topic.
- Search TipsThese short videos show how to use search terms effectively.
- Read It, Save It, Cite ItThese videos show you how to access and save articles.
General Multidisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search CompleteContains full-text peer reviewed journal articles as well as newspapers, blogs, wire services, and general interest periodicals from across all academic disciplines.
- Google ScholarThis tutorial demonstrates how to search Google Scholar.
- JSTORProvides image and full-text online access of core academic journals in a variety of disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
- Web of ScienceIndexes and abstracts citations in research journals across the disciplinary spectrum. Online version of: Arts and humanities citation index (1975-present); Science citation index (1900-present); and Social sciences citation index (1956-present).
Recommended Databases for Finding Articles
- ATLA religion database with ATLA serials This link opens in a new windowIndexes religious studies periodicals, essays in multi-author works, reviews in religion, and research in ministry.
- Index to Jewish periodicals This link opens in a new windowProvides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Titles include Contemporary Jewry, Holy Land Studies, Jewish Culture & History, Journal of Palestine Studies, Studies in American Jewish Literature, and many more. Most references are not found in standard periodical literature guides. Intended for students of Jewish thought and others interested in contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs.
- RAMBI -- The Index of Articles on Jewish StudiesSelective bibliography of academic articles covering Jewish Studies and the State of Israel.
Additional Databases
- Anthropology PlusA combination of the Anthropological Index Online and Anthropological Literature, this resource indexes bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archeology, and related disciplines.
- Ethnic NewswatchProvides full text access to articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals IndexIndexes 340 of the world's academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present. It was created by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) and includes the International Index to TV Periodicals.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full TextFull-text access to hundreds of journals and books, access to abstracts and indexing for many more, Variety movie reviews, and MPTV Image Archive.
- GenderWatchFull text collection of journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings and governmental, NGO and special reports devoted to women's, gender and LGBTQ issues.
- Historical AbstractsCovers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in the database, America: History and Life). Indexes the journal and book literature.
- Literature Resource CenterProvides a broad spectrum of full-text information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames.
- MedlineProvides indexing and abstracts to the biomedical and life sciences literature.
- MLA International BibliographyIncludes citations to books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage is worldwide. Content includes English and foreign languages.
- Philosopher's IndexA bibliographic database with author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all fields of philosophy, published in journals and books.
- Political Science CompleteIncludes both a national and international perspective of political science topics, drawing from scholarly, professional and peer-reviewed sources, and offering considerable full-text content
- Religion and Philosophy CollectionIncludes full text for more than 300 journals covering world religions, biblical studies, history, and political philosophy.
- Sociological AbstractsAbstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Worldwide Political Science AbstractsAbstracts and indexes journals in political science, international relations, law, public administration and policy, including the merged backfile of Political Science Abstracts and ABC POL SCI. Some full-text linking. Coverage 1975 - .