*Geology: Websites

This tutorial will describe the criteria that you should use when deciding whether you have the right information for your research needs.

This tutorial demonstrates how to search Google Scholar.

"AGU galvanizes a community of Earth and space scientists that collaboratively advances and communicates science and its power to ensure a sustainable future."

The Geological Society of America (GSA) is a global professional society established in 1888 that unites thousands of earth scientists from every corner of the globe in a common purpose to study the mysteries of our planet (and beyond) and share scientific findings.

Lists of the AGI Member Societies (i.e. the societies that are part of the American Geosciences Institute federation)

AGI is a nonprofit federation of 45 associations that represents more than 120,000 scientists and provides various resources.

KU Kansas Geological Survey website includes information on water, oil and gas, geology, earthquakes in Kansas, with links to the geological maps, and the Drill Core Library and Rotary Cutting Samples that can be borrowed for research purposes.

NASA Earthdata provides decades of optical, infrared, radar, and multispectral satellite imagery, atmospheric measurements (temperature and gas concentrations), land and ocean datasets. The data are available in multiple formats, including HDF, NetCDF, GeoTIFF, CSV, and shapefiles.

Find over 90,000 items from over 600 publishers.

EarthChem provides open data services to the geochemical, petrological, mineralogical, and related communities.

The GEOROC Database (Geochemistry of Rocks of the Oceans and Continents) contains major and trace element concentrations, radiogenic and nonradiogenic isotope ratios as well as analytical ages for whole rocks, glasses, minerals and inclusions.

MIST (Mineral Identification from SToichiometry) is an algorithm that uses stoichiometric rules to recognize minerals in high-resolution geochemical data.

RRUFF Project website containing an integrated database of Raman spectra, X-ray diffraction, Infrared spectra and chemistry data for minerals.

Manages and preserves data related to Earth's physical properties, including marine geology, solid Earth geophysics, and solar-terrestrial physics.

Visible Geology is a free, interactive 3D environment designed to help visualize strike and dip, folds, domes & basins, and stereonets.

Deep Time Maps™ provides paleogeographic maps including distribution of ancient shallow seas, deep ocean basins, mountain ranges, coastal plains, and continental interiors. Tectonic features shown include subduction zones, island arcs, mid-ocean ridges and accreting terranes.

The EarthByte has open access software like the GPlates software family enables the interactive manipulation and visualisation of plate-tectonic reconstructions, seismic tomography, geodynamic model outputs and other geodata through geological time.

The KU Paleontological Institute is a research and publication center specializing in fossil invertebrates. It offers authoritative publications like the Treatise on Invertebrate Paleontology, online databases and identification tools, research collections, and collaborative resources for the paleontology community.

The Paleobiology Database (PBDB) offers access to information on fossil occurrences, taxonomy, ages, and locations from around the world. The resources section provides tutorials, educational materials, data access tools, and links to visualization platforms.

The Smithsonian Libraries and Archives' Paleontology Research Guide is a curated resource designed to support students, educators, and researchers in exploring paleontology. It offers access to a variety of materials, including digitized books, exhibitions, and educational resources.

The NASA Planetary Data System (PDS) is a comprehensive archive that stores and disseminates digital data from NASA's planetary missions, as well as from ground-based and laboratory experiments.

The Astromaterials Data System (Astromat) is NASA’s primary archive for laboratory analytical data derived from extraterrestrial samples, such as meteorites, lunar rocks, and materials from sample return missions.