ENGL 332: Shakespeare: Dr. Jonathan Lamb: Web Resources

Provides an electronic concordance of all of Shakespeare's works.

"Connecting digital texts from the Folger Shakespeare Library with articles on JSTOR" (from website).

"The Shakespeare Quartos Archive is a digital collection of pre-1642 editions of William Shakespeare's plays. A cross-Atlantic collaboration has also produced an interactive interface for the detailed study of these geographically distant quartos, with full functionality for all thirty-two quarto copies of Hamlet held by participating institutions" (from Archive's website).

Site created as a doctoral project by Michael John Goodman at Cardiff University. Includes 3,000 illustrations of Shakespeare's works from Victorian times. (Find more info about the collection at http://www.openculture.com/2016/09/3000-illustrations-of-shakespeares-complete-works-from-victorian-england.html)

"Our free, high-quality digital texts of Shakespeare's plays start with the basics: superb source texts, meticulously edited on the basis of current scholarship. The plays in Folger Digital Texts are taken from the Folger Shakespeare Library editions, completed in 2010 by editors Barbara Mowat and Paul Werstine and published by Simon & Schuster.
To these texts, we've added sophisticated coding that works behind the scenes to make the plays easy to read, search, and index—and lays the groundwork for new features in the future. We've also used the same page numbers and layouts as in the Folger print editions, so it's simple to use the two together" (from website).

Available now (info from website):
The Folio Collection
* Images of all pages of the Shakespeare First Folio of 1623, including all press variants.
*The Oxford Electronic Edition of the plays (OEE), based on the Oxford Complete Works edited by Stanley Wells and Gary Taylor.
*An electronic transcription of the Folio text, from the Oxford Text Archive (OTA).
The Hamlet Collection
*Hamlet texts: In addition to the OEE and the OTA Folio transcription, the Archive contains transcriptions of the First Quarto (1603) and Second Quarto (1604/5) based on the The Three-Text Hamlet (3-Text), ed. Paul Bertram and Bernice Kliman.
*Images of the Huntington Library copy of the First Quarto (1603).
*Images of the Folger and Huntington copies of the Second Quarto (1604/5).
*The Alan Young Hamlet Art and Illustration Collection. The Folger portion of the collection now includes 1440 images for the period 1700-1899.
*Sample film sequences for Hamlet 1.4 and 1.5 from the Johnston Forbes-Robertson production (1913), the Ragnar Lyth film (1982) and the Richard Burton production, directed by John Gielgud, at the Lunt-Fontanne Theater (1964).