Recommended Web Sites
Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
The Federal Reserve System was created by an act of Congress in 1913. It consists of a seven-member Board of Governors and 12 Federal Reserve Banks located throughout the US. The primary responsibility of the Board members is the formulation of monetary policy. In addition to monetary policy responsibilities, the Federal Reserve Board has regulatory and supervisory responsibilities over banks that are members of the System.
BEA is an agency of the Department of Commerce. Along with the Census Bureau and STAT-USA, BEA is part of the Department's Economics and Statistics Administration. BEA produces economic accounts statistics that enable government and business decision-makers, researchers, and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the Nation's economy.
Describes the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), the principal fact-finding agency for the federal government in the field of labor economics and statistics. The bureau collects, processes, analyzes, and disseminates sensitive economic and statistical data to the American public, Congress, other federal agencies, state and local governments, business, and labor.
Site contains links to a number of business data and statistical sources compiled by the federal government covering banking, economics (national and regional), earnings, labor, and trade. Also contains links to statistical portals.
The CIA World Factbook provides general information about specific countries in the world, including sections on geography, demographics, economics, communications, transportation, military and transnational issues.
Statistical data on the U.S. economy from the national to the local level, organized primarily by business or industrial unit.
Economic report of the President
The Economic Report of the President is an annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisors. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.
Economic Research - Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Economic Research and Education resources created by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. Economic time-series statistics, full-text economic publications, GIS applications, educational materials. Individually branded resources include: ALFRED (ArchivaL Federal Reserve Economic Data) CASSIDI (Competitive Analysis and Structure Source Instrument for Depository Institutions) ECON DISC (Data and Information Service Center), and more.
Includes Country Reports, City Guides, Research Tools, and Special Reports.
Provides access to over 3 million time-series and cross sectional data relating to food and agriculture. FAOSTAT contains data for 200 countries and more than 200 primary products and inputs, just in its core. LIMITED ACCESS (limited to 4000 records in a search).
FITA: Federation of International Trade Associations
FITA, founded in 1984, fosters international trade by strengthening the role of local, regional, national and global associations that have an international mission. FITA provides resources, benefits and services to the international trade community and useful tools to help you do business globally.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
The IMF is an international organization of 184 member countries. It was established to promote international monetary cooperation, exchange stability, and orderly exchange arrangements; to foster economic growth and high levels of employment; and to provide temporary financial assistance to countries to help ease balance of payments adjustment.
National Bureau of Economic Research
Founded in 1920, the National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. The NBER is committed to undertaking and disseminating unbiased economic research among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community.
RePEc (Research Papers in Economics)
RePEc is a clearinghouse site that provides a centralized access point to research in Economics and related fields. Through RePEc, access can be made to working papers, citations to published literature in journals and monographs, software components for statistical analysis, and contact information for individual researchers and research institutions (colleges and university economics departments, research institutes, and more).
This guide is sponsored by the American Economic Association. It lists more than 2,000 resources in 97 sections and sub-sections available on the Internet of interest to academic and practicing economists, and those interested in economics. Almost all resources are also described.
Home page of the U.S. Census Bureau. This site provides state population profiles based on the latest census figures, census maps, and information about the Census Bureau.
Visualizing Economics — Making the "Invisible Hand" Visible
A collection of economic data drawn from web sources.
Ask a Librarian
We can help with your research questions -- contact us by chat, phone, email, text or at a Research Help desk.