Searching for Scholarly Sources
Combining Search Terms
Other Library Guides
- KU Libraries Leisure Reading & WatchingThe KU Libraries Leisure Reading & Watching Collection features fiction and non-fiction books from popular genres including romance, thrillers, mysteries, self-improvement, and biographies. It also includes movies available to stream, including some of the most popular commercial films
Starting Points
- Literature online This link opens in a new windowProvides searchable full-text of more than 350,000 literary works in the English language--poetry, drama, and prose; 175 full-text literary journals; the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature; and reference sources including American Poetry and other bibliographies, biographies, and dictionaries. Individual units run from Anglo-Saxon literature, through the Middle Ages and the Renaissance, the 18th and 19th centuries right up to the late 20th Century.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowIndexes 340 of the world's academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present.
- Film & television literature index with full text This link opens in a new windowProvides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for hundreds of publications, as well as full text for hundreds of journals and books.
- Communication & mass media complete This link opens in a new window"Provides full-text, indexing and abstracts for many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse."(EBSCO)
Books
The Edinburgh Companion to Contemporary Narrative Theories by ISBN: 9781474424752Publication Date: 2018
The Blackwell Guide to Literary Theory by Call Number: Watson Library Stacks - 3 West Stack PN94 .C38 2007ISBN: 0631232729Publication Date: 2007-05-14
Domestic Noir : The New Face of 21st Century Crime Fiction by ISBN: 9783319693378Publication Date: 2018-05-04
Fate in Film : A Deterministic Approach to Cinema by ISBN: 9780231555272Publication Date: 2022-10-18
Finding Books in the KU Libraries
- KU Libraries Quick SearchKU Quick Search searches and provides access to many but not all of our 400 databases as well as the KU Libraries Catalog, which lists the books, journals, DVDs, maps, and more that are owned by KU Libraries.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowProvides authoritative, credible e-books from scholarly publishers. Access is also available to mobile devices.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowIncludes millions of records describing items owned by OCLC member libraries, including the KU Libraries.