*Chemistry: Web Resources

This tutorial will describe the criteria that you should use when deciding whether you have the right information for your research needs.

This tutorial demonstrates how to search Google Scholar.

A leading scientific organization that supports chemistry research, education, and professional development worldwide.

A global authority that standardizes chemical nomenclature, terminology, and measurement to promote consistency in chemistry.

An international body that advances the science of crystallography and promotes cooperation among crystallographers.

A professional organization that focuses on environmental science, toxicology, and chemistry to address environmental challenges and policy.

The Analytical Sciences Digital Library, ASDL, is an NSF-funded digital library, accessed at www.asdlib.org, that collects, catalogs, links and publishes peer reviewed web-based discovery materials pertinent to innovations in curricular development and supporting technical resources in the analytical sciences.

National Institute of Standards and Technology's Scientific and Technical Databases covers areas such as analytical chemistry, atomic and molecular physics, biotechnology, chemical and crystal structure and general chemistry.

The Open Chemistry project is a collection of open source, cross platform libraries and applications for the exploration, analysis and generation of chemical data, leveraging the best technologies ranging from quantum chemistry codes, molecular dynamics, informatics and visualization.

The OpenScience Project – Chemistry page collects and categorizes open-source chemistry software and tools.

InChI is a structure-based chemical identifier, developed by IUPAC and the InChI Trust. It is a standard identifier for chemical databases that facilitates effective information management across chemistry.

ChEMBL is a database of bioactive drug-like small molecules, it contains 2-D structures, calculated properties (e.g. logP, Molecular Weight, Lipinski Parameters, etc.) and abstracted bioactivities (e.g. binding constants, pharmacology and ADMET data).

A chemical structure database providing text and structure search access to millions of compounds from numerous data sources.

Organic Syntheses provides annual collections of detailed, reliable, and carefully checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds. Some procedures describe practical methods for the preparation of specific compounds of interest, while other procedures illustrate important synthetic methods with general utility. Plug-in file required for structure searching.

RCSB PDB (RCSB.org) is the US data center for the global Protein Data Bank (PDB) archive of 3D structure data for large biological molecules (proteins, DNA, and RNA) essential for research and education in fundamental biology, health, energy, and biotechnology.

PubChem contains the chemical structures of small organic molecules and information on their biological activities. Search for compounds and bioassay information by description, name, or keywords or by structure search.

Property tables for 1800 inorganic and organic (C1 and C2) substances and ions, in SI units. Covers temperature-dependent properties over a temp range of 0-6000K. Includes references to source literature.

The NIST Chemistry WebBook is an online reference of high-quality data on chemical species: thermochemical tables, ionization energetics, vibrational and electronic energy levels, spectral data (IR, UV/Vis, etc.), molecular structures, and related properties.

The Active Thermochemical Tables (ATcT) website provides highly accurate and consistent thermochemical data for thousands of chemical species combining experimental and theoretical results for properties such as enthalpies of formation, reaction energies, and bond dissociation energies.

The Bilbao Crystallographic Server is a free online resource that provides a wide range of crystallographic tools for the analysis of symmetry in crystals. It offers databases and programs that allow users to study space groups, magnetic groups, and related symmetry operations.

An open-access collection of crystal structures of organic, inorganic, metal-organic compounds and minerals, excluding biopolymers. It stores information on crystal structures in downloadable CIF (Crystallographic Information File) format.

A crystallography network including tutorials, databases, software, and professional associations.