IMPORTANT US RAILWAY WEBSITES
- Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS) RailThis is a list of resources from the Bureau of Transportation Statistics.
- National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB)The NTSB website holds information on safety advocacy that can be filtered by mode. There is also data and stats that can be narrowed by mode. When searching filter by railway.
- Repository & Open Science Access Portal (ROSA P)Founded as an all-digital library program, National Transportation Library’s (NTL) collections in ROSA P are full-text electronic publications, datasets, and other resources. The repository is also designated as the full-text repository for USDOT-funded research under the USDOT Public Access Plan. NTL provides its collections freely to transportation researchers, statistical organizations, the media, and the general public.
- US Federal Railroad Administration (FRA)The Federal Railroad Administration (FRA) was created by the Department of Transportation Act of 1966. It is one of ten agencies within the U.S. Department of Transportation concerned with intermodal transportation. From this site, you can get to the FRA eLibrary, FRA data, and US legislation information.
IMPORTANT RAILWAY WEBSITES
- Railway TechnologyRailway Technology is a trade website where you can access to feature articles and white papers on the subject of rail.
- Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)The mission of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is to promote policies that will improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world. This site holds some useful international railway data.
- The World Bank - TransportThe World Bank offers international railway statistics.
KU LIBRARIES STATISTICAL DATABASES
- Social explorer This link opens in a new windowSocial Explorer allows for you to build customized data tables and export the data as Excel, STAT, SAS, and SPSS files. However, it does not have the amount of searchable data sources as ProQuest statistical insights.
An online research tool designed to provide easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. Contains over 15,000 thematic and interactive maps, the entire U.S. Census from 1790 to 2000, plus the first 2010 data release. Also includes the American Community Survey through the most current release, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study (RCMS) from 1980 to 2000 with the addition of 2010 and other recent data planned. The RCMS is the most complete census available on religion in the U.S. (Restricted to 5 simultaneous users). - ProQuest statistical insight This link opens in a new windowThis is a good finding tool; however, you cannot costume build tables and select data like in Social Explorer and some of the tables are not exportable. It is a good place to explore data sources, but you may need to go elsewhere to download the actual data.
Includes statistical data produced by the U.S. government; international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, business organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities. The KU Libraries subscribe to the Tables collection, the American Statistics Index (ASI), and Index to International Statistics (IIS) modules. ASI abstracts and indexes federal statistical publications dating back to 1973. IIS abstracts and indexes key statistical titles from international organizations dating back to 1983. Among these organizations are the United Nations, the European Union, the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, and the World Bank.
