Research beyond the Internet
Expand your sources of evidence!
If you rely on keyword searches in general Internet search tools and clicking on the top results that include only familiar information types, you are limiting the variety of sources appropriate for your EALC 142 assignment.
Consider using more than your favorite Internet search engine.
Resources presented in this guide offer alternatives ways to discover and to access reliable sources as defined in your EALC 142 assignment.
Academic/Scholarly Sources
- Ethics Resources | Markkula Center for Applied EthicsCurated collection of resources focused on ethics. You can explore articles, case studies, links to advocacy organizations and more. The center content is developed by a cross disciplinary team of scholars at the Santa Clara University (established in the Jesuit tradition), as well as practitioners working to address real world problems.
- The ConversationMultidisciplinary online journal is billed as "academic rigor, journalistic flair". Scholars write about their scholarly research for a public audience.
- Google Scholar (includes Get at KU) This link opens in a new windowFamiliar and easy to use search engine limited to scholarly/academic information. The "cited by" feature enables quick discovery of related works and content citing specific articles, book chapters and other scholarly literature.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text database provides discover and boosts "access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines." Use the advanced search options to strategically search the full text by keywords and phrases.
Government Agencies and NGOs Reports
Start here:
- Congressional Research Service - Search CRS ReportsIf an issue potential policy concern is in the news, there is likely a CRS report available. CRS is a nonpartisan federal agency that provides analysis of the broad variety of problems discussed by the U.S. Congress. The experts at CRS produces reports that strive to be "authoritative, objective and nonpartisan". The intended audience for the reports are members of Congress and their staff. Thus the reports are written plain language for non-subject experts.
- Office of Government EthicsThe United States Office of Government Ethics (OGE) leads and oversees the executive branch ethics program which is at work every day in more than 130 agencies.
- Policy File Index This link opens in a new windowDatabase providing access to public policy reports produced by think tanks, research institutions, foundations and other nongovernmental organizations.
- Homeland security digital library (HSDL) This link opens in a new windowCurrent affairs and hot topics covered in this full text collection reports from government agencies, IGOs, think tanks, foundation, advocacy group, other NGOs spans broad issues of public interest and concern.
For more options to discover and access "Government Agencies and NGOs Reports" see:
- govinfo | U.S. Government Publishing Officegovinfo.gov is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch. govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Polls and Surveys Results
- Roper iPoll This link opens in a new windowAccess research conducted by Roper Center, a trusted source for quality public opinion polling data.
- Polling the nations This link opens in a new windowCollection of result on wide variety of public opinion surveys conducted by reputable polling organizations.
For more "Public Opinion and Surveys" resources see:
In-depth News and Investigative Reporting
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of local, regional, national and global news sources. Advance search and result filtering options make it easy for you to location relevant content. For example, in the advance search use the drop down search field option to limit by "word count."
For more "In-depth news" resources see:
Statistics and Data
Start Here
- Social explorer This link opens in a new windowProvides easy access to current census data and demographic information.
- Statistical abstract of the United States (1878- : Proquest) This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Provides thousands of tables and millions of data points across a wide variety of topics.
For more "Statistics and Data" resources see:
- WHO Global Health ObservatoryWHO's gateway to health-related statistics for more than 1000 indicators for its 194 Member States. Data are organized to monitor progress towards the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), including health status indicators to monitor progress towards for the overall health goal, indicators to track equity in health indicators, and the indicators for the specific health and health-related targets of the SDGs.
Ask a Librarian
We can help with your research questions -- contact us by chat, phone, email, text or at a Research Help desk.
