Non governmental Organizations (NGOs): Web Resources

"a federal agency that helps more than 5 million Americans improve the lives of their fellow citizens through service. ... We invest in thousands of nonprofit and faith-based groups that are making a difference across the country. We are AmeriCorps, Senior Corps, the Social Innovation Fund, the Volunteer Generation Fund, and more. "

"UNODC has established an electronic NGO database listing over 3,300 NGOs involved in prevention, treatment and rehabilitation of drug addicts, alternative development, crime prevention (including anti-human trafficking and anti-corruption activities), and criminal justice reforms. This database includes information provided by NGOs and input from UNODC's field offices where NGOs actively participate in operational projects."

"list by country of some national and regional NGOs advocating for road safety and road victims."

"The growth of civil society has been one of the most significant trends in international development. This website will provide you with information and materials on the World Bank's evolving relationship with civil society."

"Working to connect WHO with nongovernmental and civil society organizations. The Civil Society Initiative (CSI) fosters relations between WHO and nongovernmental and civil society organizations and is responsible for the administration of formal relations as set out in the Principles governing relations between WHO and nongovernmental organizations (NGOs). "

" 3,900 non-governmental organizations (NGOs) in consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) [list], and over 31,000 other NGOs working with the United Nations [search]. Up-to-date information including our monthly email newsletter DESA NGO News is currently available in English, French, Spanish and Arabic."

"The World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (WANGO) is an international organization uniting NGOs worldwide in the cause of advancing peace and global well being. WANGO helps to provide the mechanism and support needed for NGOs to connect, partner, share, inspire, and multiply their contributions to solve humanity’s basic problems."

"The standards seek to encourage fair and honest solicitation practices, to promote ethical conduct by charitable organizations and to advance support of philanthropy."

"free directory of IRS-recognized charities and nonprofits....The CharityCheck directory includes more than 1.4 million charities and other organizations listed by the Internal Revenue Service as exempt from federal income taxes."

"Charity Navigator's rating system examines two broad areas of a charity's performance; their Financial Health and their Accountability & Transparency."

"The mission of CharityWatch, a nonprofit charity watchdog and information service, is to maximize the effectiveness of every dollar contributed to charity by providing donors with the information they need to make more informed giving decisions."

"Advancing the research, education, and public understanding of philanthropy is the mission of the Giving USA Foundation, founded in 1985 by The Giving Institute."

Social media tools "that allow people to find, review, and share information about great -- and perhaps not yet great -- nonprofits and charities."

"To revolutionize philanthropy by providing information that advances transparency, enables users to make better decisions, and encourages charitable giving."

"on-line search tool that allows users to search for and select an exempt organization and check certain information about its federal tax status and filings. It consolidates three former search sites into one, providing expanded search capability and a more efficient way to search for organizations"

"mission is to develop and disseminate high quality data on nonprofit organizations and their activities for use in research on the relationships between the nonprofit sector, government, the commercial sector, and the broader civil society."

"NGO Monitor provides information and analysis, promotes accountability, and supports discussion on the reports and activities of NGOs (non-governmental organizations) claiming to advance human rights and humanitarian agendas."

"helping busy charity donors do good better."

An Initiative of the: World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (WANGO). See the Code of Ethics at http://www.wango.org/codeofethics/COEEnglish.pdf

Collaborates with philanthropists, social services providers, community advocates, businesses, and federal, state, and local leaders. Includes statistics about charities.

"national and international association that connects scholars, teachers, and practice leaders interested in research on nonprofit organizations, voluntary action, philanthropy and civil society."

"represents more than 30,000 members in 235 chapters throughout the world, working to advance philanthropy through advocacy, research, education and certification programs. The association fosters development and growth of fundraising professionals and promotes high ethical standards in the fundraising profession."

"Our Mission: We work to build a better world by strengthening the ability of mission-driven organizations and philanthropists to achieve breakthrough results in addressing society’s most important challenges and opportunities."

Lilly Family School of Philanthropy include academic program and research center.

"ission is to provide the opportunity, leadership, and tools needed by philanthropic organizations to expand, enhance, and sustain their ability to advance the common good."

"Through data, analysis, and training, it connects people who want to change the world to the resources they need to succeed. The Center maintains the most comprehensive database on U.S. and, increasingly, global grantmakers and their grants [470+] — a robust, accessible knowledge bank for the sector. It also operates research, education, and training programs designed to advance knowledge of philanthropy at every level."

"leadership network for nonprofits, foundations, and corporations committed to advancing the common good. Our nonpartisan coalition’s networks collectively represent tens of thousands of organizations and individuals locally, nationally, and globally."

"3ie funds impact evaluations and systematic reviews that generate evidence on what works in development programmes and why. Evidence on development effectiveness can inform policy and improve lives of the poor. 3ie is a US non-profit organization with an office in Washington, and programmes operating in Delhi and London under the auspices of the Global Development Network and London International Development Centre, respectively."

"The School of Philanthropy is dedicated to improving philanthropy by training and empowering students and practitioners to be innovators and leaders who create positive and lasting change in the world."

" association of the nation’s leading national non-profits in the fields of health, human and community development, and human services. Many of the member organizations are national offices of large networks of local health & human service organizations. Others are national research or resource organizations or national programs."

"fundraising software"

"a regional association uniquely serving individuals involved in the management of nonprofit organizations. Our mission is to link the nonprofit community to education, resources and networking so organizations can more effectively achieve their missions."

An Initiative of the: World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (WANGO). See the Code of Ethics at http://www.wango.org/codeofethics/COEEnglish.pdf

Mission: "work to build a better world by strengthening the ability of mission-driven organizations and philanthropists to achieve breakthrough results in addressing society’s most important challenges and opportunities."