Databases at KU
- Historical abstracts This link opens in a new windowA bibliographic database to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in the database, America: History and Life). Indexes the journal and book literature.
- History Reference Source This link opens in a new windowA full text history reference database featuring content from reference books.
- Project MuseA searchable database that provides online access to current issues of selected scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. A list of the journals contained in this database can be found at the Project Muse homepage.
- Bibliography of the history of art This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs, and periodical articles.
- Iter : gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new windowProvides access to an online bibliography for articles, essays, books, and reviews for the study of the Middle Ages and the Renaissance (400-1700). Also includes online access to Iter Italicum, a finding list of Renaissance humanistic manuscripts, and the International Directory of Scholars, a listing of scholars in the field.
Online Databases and Resources
- PhiloBiblon - University of California at BerkeleyA free internet-based bio-bibliographical database of texts written in the various Romance vernaculars of the Iberian Peninsula during the Middle Ages and the early Renaissance. (Description from website)
- ISTC - Incunabula Short Title Catalogue (British Library)The ISTC is an international database of fifteenth-century printing which has been in development at the British Library since 1980.
- CCPB - Catálogo Colectivo del Patrimonio Bibliográfico EspañolThis catalog describes and locates books and other bibliographical information found in Spanish public and private libraries, that due to their age, singularities or wealth are part of the Spanish Historical Patrimony.
- Bibloteca Nacional de EspañaThe Biblioteca Nacional de España (National Library of Spain) is a major public library, the largest in Spain and one the largest libraries in the world.
- Library of CongressThe Library of Congress is the research library of the United States Congress and the oldest federal cultural institution in the United States.
- The Huntington LibraryA collection of over 6 million items which includes rare books and manuscripts in the fields of British and American history and literature among other things.
- The Morgan Library & MuseumThe collection includes illuminated, literary, and historical manuscripts, early printed books, and old master drawings and prints.
- Bancroft Library, U of California, BerkeleyThe Rare Book Collection at Bancroft Library is responsible for collecting, preserving, and making accessible old, rare, fragile, and sensitive materials over the entire range of the Library of Congress classification scheme.
- The British LibraryThe library is a major research library, holding over 150 million items from many countries, in many languages and in many formats, both print and digital: books, manuscripts, journals, newspapers, magazines, sound and music recordings, videos, play-scripts, patents, databases, maps, stamps, prints, drawings.
- Biblioteca digital de NavarraThis collection contains digitized materials dating back to 1481.