Subject & Course Guides: Modern Japan (HIST 588 Fall 2014): Finding More Sources at KU Libraries

Search KU Collection

If you are looking for a certain book (or journal, DVD, etc.) available at KU, use this search box. You can search by title, author, keywords, etc.:

Search Help

Search KU Collection and More

What Am I Searching?

Our new search allows you to search for a number of different resources, including:

Everything from the KU Libraries Catalog: more than 4 million books, ebooks, videos, sound recordings, manuscripts, and more
A growing collection of more than 66,000 images from KU Libraries' digital collections and beyond
More than 7,700 articles and Open Access research from KU ScholarWorks, KU's institutional repository

You may search across these sources all at once, or limit your search to those items most interesting to you.

NOTE: not all databases important for East Asian/Japanese Studies are not included!

Online Reference Tools

Britannica online This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage and integrated searching of the following encyclopedias and multiple reference tools: Encyclopaedia Britannica; Britannica Student Encyclopedia; Britannica Internet Guide; Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary; Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Thesaurus; and World Atlas.

Choice reviews online
The premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources
Encylopedia of Japan
English encyclopedia of Japan. Part of JapanKnowledge+. Contains the full body text of Japan: An Illustrated Encyclopedia (Kodansha, 1993).

Newpapers (Archives)

New York Tribune, 1841-1922 This link opens in a new window
New York Times with index This link opens in a new window
Chicago Defender (1905-2010) This link opens in a new window
Chicago Tribune This link opens in a new window
Los Angeles sentinel (1934-2010) This link opens in a new window
Los Angeles times (1881-2010) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest historical newspapers This link opens in a new window
Sunday Times Historical Archive, 1822-2021 This link opens in a new window
Wall Street journal (historical) This link opens in a new window
Washington post This link opens in a new window

Selected Databases for Japanese Studies (English)

The followings lists important databases for the study of East Asian history. Click here to see more databases available at KU Libraries.

Bibliography of Asian studies This link opens in a new window
Includes citations to Western-language periodical articles and book chapters, pertaining to Asia.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full-text online access of core academic journals in a variety of disciplines.
Academic search complete This link opens in a new window
Featuring 8,750 of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study.
Arts and humanities citation index This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts citations in research journals across the disciplinary spectrum, including online version of: Arts and humanities citation index (1975-present).
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text versions of selected scholarly journals from university presses and scholarly societies, etc. in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Database Instruction

Database Instruction
PowerPoint for library instruction, Sep. 10, 2014