Kiswahili Literature Reference Sources
Outline of Swahili Literature : prose, fiction and drama by Call Number: PL8703.5 .B47 2009 (Watson Stacks)ISBN: 9004168184Publication Date: Leiden ; Boston : Brill, 2009- "Swahili fiction bibliography : an update to 1980", in Africana journal byCall Number: Z3503 .A37 (Watson Stacks)Publication Date: Vol. XII, 3 (1981), 197-218Lists 336 early literary works by author and title. Publisher information is not provided.
- "A bibliography of Swahili bibliographies," in African Research and Documentation byCall Number: DT19.8 .A35 (Watson Stacks)Publication Date: no. 88 (2002) 59-64.Includes a thorough listing, with critical annotations, of several bibliographies of Swahili literature.
Kiswahili Holdings at KU
- Biography and AutobiographyThis list of biographical and autobiographical works in Kiswahili available at KU includes both literary and historical works.
- Novels and NovellasA list of novels and novellas written in the Kiswahili language available in the KU collections.
- Kiswahili PoetryA list of KU holdings of poetry in Kiswahili
- Kiswahili Short StoriesKiswahili short stories in the KU collections.
- Kiswahili DramaWorks of drama in Kiswahili, including collections and individual titles.
The University of Kansas Libraries holds an extensive collection of literary works in Kiswahili. Most notable of the various literary genres in these holdings are novels and the works of Shaaban Robert (1909-1962), Tanzania's most noted poet and novelist.
