Statistics on Latin America
- MOxLAD: Montevideo- Oxford Latin American Economic History Database (Oxford University)The data series include: population and demographics, illiteracy, public spending on education, labor force, industry, transport and communications infrastructure, external trade, finance, national accounts, and consumer price indices. Dates: 1900-2000.
Inter-American Dialogue
The Inter-American Dialogue is the leading U.S. center for policy analysis, exchange, and communication on issues in Western Hemisphere affairs. The Dialogue brings together public and private leaders from across the Americas to address hemispheric problems and opportunities. Together they seek to build cooperation among Western Hemisphere nations and advance a regional agenda of democratic governance, social equity, and economic growth.
- Brazil and the Southern ConeThe Dialogue's program on Brazil and the Southern Cone examines the most pressing challenges and opportunities facing Brazil, Argentina, Paraguay, Uruguay, and Chile. Issues include democratic governance, energy, trade capacity building, the environment, and international relations.
- China and Latin AmericaThe Dialogue’s China and Latin America program engages and informs academics, policy makers, and private sector leaders from China, Latin America, and the United States on evolving themes in China-Latin America relations.
International Statistics
- GeoHiveGeoHive provides demographic and economic statistics for all countries, at both the national and sub-national levels. The site is divided into four main parts. One dealing with the whole world and its regions, a second with the major regions, a third with all major countries separately and a fourth with rankings (the most, largest, longest, wealthiest, etc.).
- globalEdge (Michigan State University)From Michigan State University, this web-portal connects international business professionals. Contains a section on "Country Insights" with statistical data for 201 countries around the world. In addition to statistics, historical, economic, and political conditions are available.
- Statistical Sites on the World Wide Web (U.S. Dept. of Labor)Arranged alphabetically by country.
- NationMaster.comAllows users to generate graphs based on numerical data extracted from numerous sources. All sources are documented.
- OFFSTATS - Official Statistics on the Web (University of Auckland Library)Country statistics from official sources (both governmental and non-government agencies) around the world; searchable by country, region or topic. From the University of Auckland Library.
- Paul Hensel's International Relations Data SiteLinks to "online data resources for the serious international relations scholar"; Hensel is a professor at the University of N. Texas.
- World Bank Data by CountryThe Country at a Glance tables include two pages of key indicators tracing the trends in social and economic development from the last three decades. They are drawn from the World Development Indicators database. The profiles cover the 208 countries (184 World Bank members and 24 other economies with populations of more than 30,000) and 18 country groups reported on in the World Development Indicators.
- World Health Organization Country ProfilesIncludes basic vital and health statistics, health expenditures, provision/coverage, health system organization and regulation, summary measures, country-specific conditions, and human resources.
- InterAmerican Development BankLinks to national statistical sites
- International Data Base (U.S. Census Bureau)Demographic and socio-economic statistics for most countries of the world. Data include population by age and sex, vital rates, infant mortality, life tables, fertility and child survivorship, migration, marital status, family planning, ethnicity, religion, language, literacy, labor force, employment, income and households. Combines data from country sources with projections to provide information dating back to 1950 and as far ahead as 2050. Also HIV/AIDS prevalence and incidence.
- International Social Indicators (United Nations)Indicators are provided for population, health, housing, education, work.
Statistical Databases
- Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century This link opens in a new windowStatistics on a wide range of subjects. Can be exported.
- Polling the NationsA compilation of questions and responses from national, state, local and special surveys, conducted by polling organizations in the United States and other countries.
- Global economic monitor This link opens in a new windowGEM is the World Bank's portal for analysis of current economic trends, and economic and financial indicators.
- OECD iLibraryProvides tables and information on worldwide financial and health and economic statistics/indicators.
- ProQuest statistical insight This link opens in a new windowMulti-subject: includes statistical data produced by the U.S. government, international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, business organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities.
- UNdata This link opens in a new windowA portal that retrieves data series from the United Nations System and other international organizations. Sources include FAO, ILO, WHO, and the Human Development Report. Country profiles and glossaries are also provided.
- World databank This link opens in a new windowPortal for the World Bank Development Data Development Group that coordinates statistical and data work and maintains a number of macro, financial and sector databases. Topics include: agriculture, environment, financial sector, health, poverty, and many more.
- World Development Indicators & Global Development FinanceThe World Development Indicators (WDI) and Global Development Finance (GDF) provide a comprehensive selection of economic, social and environmental indicators, drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partner agencies.