Center for Research Libraries
KU Libraries' membership in the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) grants patrons the right to borrow any of their holdings on interlibrary loan. CRL has an extensive collection of national and international papers. The CRL catalog provides a number of ways to search for content. Be sure to explore their catalog. CRL will also purchase film at the request of member libraries.
- Center for Research LibrariesSearch for newspapers by nation, state, or ethnicity.
- International Coalition on NewspapersA list of digitized newspaper collections from around the world and maintained by CRL.
Associated Press Materials
- Associated Press This link opens in a new windowContains the archives of the Associated Press. New content is added constantly to news photographs, audio sound bites, and graphics spanning 180 years of history
- Associated Press collections online This link opens in a new windowSearch the internal documents of the Associated Press. Three collections included are: News Features & Internal Communications, U.S. City Bureaus Collection, and Washington, D.C. Bureaus Collection.
Advertisements
- Ad*AccessThe Ad*Access presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
- Vogue archive This link opens in a new windowAlthough a fashion magazine, Vogue is filled with advertisements from throughout the 20th century.
Miscellany
- Carriers' AddressesCarriers' addresses were published by newspapers, usually on January 1, and distributed in the United States for more than two centuries.
Major American Papers
- Chicago Tribune This link opens in a new windowView full page and article images as well as keyword search the Chicago Tribune from 1849 to 20 years ago.
- Christian science monitor (1908-2003) This link opens in a new windowThe Christian Science Monitor provides secular, balanced coverage of international news and events.
- Harper's weekly This link opens in a new windowHarper's Weekly, the illustrated 19th and early 20th century "national newspaper," is an important resource for examining America on a week-to-week basis from 1857-1912.
- Kansas City Star, 1880 to PresentAccess to 114 years of content from Kansas City, Missouri’s largest paper.
- Los Angeles times (1881-2010) This link opens in a new windowView full page and article images as well as keyword search the Los Angeles Times from 1881-1986.
- New York Times with index This link opens in a new windowView full page and article images as well as keyword search the New York Times from 1851 to four years ago.
- New York Tribune, 1841-1922 This link opens in a new windowOne of the most influential newspapers of its time, the New York Tribune reported on events, arts, sports, business and finance.
- Pennsylvania gazette, 1728-1800 This link opens in a new windowPhiladelphia's newspaper provides valuable perspectives about colonial America.
- Wall Street journal (historical) This link opens in a new windowView full page and article images as well as keyword search the Wall Street Journal from 1889 to 17 years ago.
- Washington post This link opens in a new windowView full page and article images as well as keyword search the Washington Post from 1877 to 16 years ago.
Aggregated Collections
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowThis database includes a wide variety of American newspapers from the 19th century. Searching can be limited by state or to a specific paper.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowThis aggregated collection of papers, magazines, and other forms of media dates back to the mid 1980s. The material included is from around the world.
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersSearch newspaper pages from 1880 to 1922 from the following states: Arizona, California, District of Columbia, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia, and Washington.
- Chronicling America Maps and VisualizationsThese maps can help identify the locations of papers included in the Library of Congress' Chronicling America. Types of maps include location, ethnic press, language, and others.
- Google News Archive: Alphabetical ListingA title and date list for content included in Google News Archive. If you know the name of a paper you are interested in, check here to see if it is available online. Beware that printing and saving can be tricky.
- Newspapers.com Library Edition – World CollectionThe World Collection contains over 4,000 newspapers dating from the early 1700s into the 2000s from the United States and other countries. There are a significant number of small Kansas papers included.
- Small Town PapersThis site provides access to over 250 small papers from across the country. A portion of the titles are available free of charge.
For Fun!
- Illustrated Newspaper SupplementsCheck out the Library of Congress' Flickr page with images from the New York Tribune.
Subject Guide
Sara Morris
Contact:
Watson Library, Room 350
1425 Jayhawk Blvd.
Lawrence, KS 66045-7544
1425 Jayhawk Blvd.
Lawrence, KS 66045-7544
785-864-8907
Research Help
We can help with your research questions -- contact us by chat, phone, email, text or at a Research Help desk.
Aggregated searches
- ElephindA single search engine that pulls newspapers in from freely available papers from across the web.