Primary Sources, United States: Archival Collections

The Kansas Collection contains primary source materials documenting the history of Kansas and the region, from the territorial period to the present.

Located on KU's West Campus, the Dole Archive contains materials documenting Senator Dole's service in Washington from 1961-1996, as well as, activities since his retirement.

Special Collections contains a wide range of rare books and manuscripts covering a variety of geographical locations and topics.

University Archives, holds the records documenting the history of the University of Kansas.

This archive collects the the social, economic, political and cultural histories of persons of African American descent in the central United States, with particular emphasis in the Kansas City, Missouri region.

President Eisenhower's papers, as well as other associated with his presidency, are kept at the Eisenhower Presidential Library and Museum in Abilene, KS.

Missouri Valley Special Collections, housed at the Central Library, holds local history materials concerning the greater Kansas City area.

The collections here focus on the Kansas City area and western Missouri on topic including, architecture and the built environment, minority communities, municipal government, religion, and transportation.

The official documents of Kansas can be researched at this location in Topeka. The state historical society also has an amazing collection of newspapers and archival collections.

UMKC's special collections has materials on a variety of different topics such as advertising, education, music, and women's issues to name a few.

Located in Kansas City, the Great Plains National Archives holds materials related to the Great Plains region of the United States.

The Research Center of the National World War I Museum, located in Kansas City, has a large collection of material related to the Great War.

Papers related to the presidency of Harry S Truman are available to researchers at the Truman Presidential Library in Independence, MO.

Located in downtown Lawrence, the Watkins Museum of History, houses the collections of the Douglas County Historical Society.

This page provides access to LOC's finding aids, manuscript catalog, as well as, information on using the collections.

This page provides numerous searching methods to NARA's archival records.

ArchiveGrid makes it easy to search WorldCat archival records and finding aids.

Once only available in printed volumes, the NUCMUC is available for keyword searching in WorldCat through this portal from the Library of Congress.