Databases
I draw these databases to your attention because they will be particularly useful for your graduate research.
To find previous dissertations and theses:
Dissertations & Theses at KU - Contains citations and abstracts of dissertations and theses submitted by the University of Kansas and published in UMI's Dissertations Abstracts database, and full text of KU dissertations published after 1996 and KU theses published after 2005.
Proquest Dissertation & Theses - PQDT provides online access to over 2 million dissertations and master's theses, many of which are available in full text for immediate downloading. Citations are available for dissertations dating from 1861 and full text online from 1997 for over 1,000 schools submitting to the ProQuest UMI database. More than 55,000 new citations are added to the database every year.
Research hint: When you are looking for a particular article in the KU databases, I encourage you to go the the online catalog, choose journal name in the dropdown box, and search. That way, if we own the print but not the electronic version of the journal, you can still find the article. This is particularly important when you are looking for old newspapers because they are going to be on microform (probably).
To find books not owned by KU Libraries:
WorldCat - Includes millions of records describing items owned by OCLC member libraries, including the KU Libraries.
For citation chasing:
Google Scholar - Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, patents, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
JSTOR - Provides image and full-text online access of core academic journals in a variety of disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. The following collections are accessible: Arts and Sciences Collections I-IX; Life Sciences Collection; and Public Health Reports.
Web of Science - Indexes and abstracts citations in research journals across the disciplinary spectrum. Online version of: Arts and humanities citation index (1975-present); Science citation index (1900-present); and Social sciences citation index (1956-present).
If you want to find the impact factor of journals:
Journal Citation Reports - The Journal Citation Reports on the Web is a unique multidisciplinary research tool that provides a systematic, objective way to determine the relative importance of journals within their subject categories. JCR(r) Web is available in two editions: the Science Edition covers over 6,100 leading international science journals from the ISI database. The Social Sciences Edition covers approximately 1,800 leading international social sciences journals from the ISI database. It includes what subject matter each journal covers (Scope Notes), what journals are related by citation or subject, what each journal issue contains and where the journal can be found. Coverage is 2004 to present. Please consult the library catalog for data available from previous years.
