Topical Guides
State of Kansas Legislation
- Kansas Legislature -- Current HappengingsKeep update with Kansas Legislative news from the official website.
Legislative History 1985-present
Tracking proposed bill and other issues in the US Congress using freely available resouces. Look for options for recieving email alerts and RSS feeds.
- Legislation - ProQuest Legislative InsightProvides full text of bills that passed into law as well as various versions of the proposed legislation and related bills. Covers Public Law from 1929 to present.
- ThomasUse this portal provided by the Library of Congress to find proposed legislation and then track the history of the bill.
- FDsys.govUse for official/authenticated publications:
-full text transcripts of Congressional Committee hearings;
-House/Senate documents/report that eventually are part of the US Congressional Serial Set
- debates on the floor of the House or Senate published in the Congressional Record
-Statutes at Large
-Compilation of Presidential Documents
-United States Code
--and MORE - Senate.govThe main page for the Senate serves as a portal to access the Committee pages controlled by the major party. Committee pages will provide access to hearing content as well as press release and access to the minor page for the Committee.
- House.govThe main page for the House serves as a portal to access the Committee pages controlled by the major party. Committee pages will provide access to hearing content as well as press release and access to the minor page for the Committee.
- C-Span video library This link opens in a new windowThe video archive includes all programming from the three C-SPAN's networks. Programming includes coverage for Congressional session 1987-present and has special indexing by person with full text transcripts. The C-SPAN Congressional Chronicle is an index to the C-SPAN video recordings of the House and Senate floor proceedings.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowLicensed database/index provides comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information, including congressional publications and documents, statistics, current members of Congress and congressional committees, and regulatory and statutory information.
Standard Citations
[vol.] CR [page no.] = Congressional Record
...
[cong.] HR [bill number] = House of Representative Bill
[cong.] S [bill number] = Senate Bill
...
[cong.] H. Doc. [number] = House of Representative Document
[cong.] H. Rpt. [number] = House of Representative Report
[cong.] S. Doc. [number] = Senate Document
[cong.] S. Rpt. [number] = Senate Report
...