Art Critiques
The Critique Handbook: A Sourcebook and Survival Guide by Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson Prentice Hall, c2007. An invaluable resource for examining the uses and mis-uses of artistic analysis. Presenting hundreds of examples, the author's address the complexity of what actually occurs in critiques and provide models for more informed and effective ways of conducting and taking part in critiques.
Art Critiques: A Guide by Washington, DC: New Academia Publishing, 2012. 2nd ed. A guidebook for art students at the college level.
Job & Residency Listings
- Artist in Residencies around the World: We Love ArtistsTōkyō: BNN, 2009. Text in Japanese and English. Directory of artist-in-residency opportunities worldwide.
Art Deadlines Art contests and competitions, art jobs and internships, art scholarships and grants and fellowships, art festivals, call for entries/proposals/projects, and other opportunities, in all disciplines, for art students, art teachers, and artists of all ages.
ArtINFO Jobs Listings of competitions, internships and jobs.
College Art Association (CAA) Career Center The Online Career Center is the largest database of employment listings in the art and academic worlds. Job seekers may search listings and post their CV, and employers may submit classified advertisements and browse information about potential candidates.
Job Listings from NYFA (the New York Foundation for the Arts) variety of jobs--mostly in the New York city area--in museums, galleries, theaters, music venues, auction houses, and more. Updated daily.
Legal Issues
Legal Guide for the Visual Artist by New York: Allworth Press, c2010. Provides artists with a broad general knowledge of most legal issues that they’re likely to face, and includes legal forms to address many needs.
Art Law in a Nutshell by St. Paul, MN: Thomson/West, c2006. Overviews art law for collectors, museums, dealers, and artists.
Art Law: the Guide for Collectors, Investors, Dealers, and Artists by New York, NY: Practising Law Institute, c2005. 3v. Provides legal and tax guidance for visual art professionals and their attorneys.
Career Advice
Akademie X by London; New York: Phaidon Press Limited, [2015]. An art school without walls; lessons from 36 contemporary artists about being an artist in today's fast-changing environment.
Taking Aim!: the Business of Being an Artist Today by New York: Fordham University Press, c2011. Designed to aid visual artists in furthering their careers through unfiltered information about the business practices and idiosyncrasies of the contemporary art world.
Art-work: Everything You Need to Know (and Do) as You Pursue your Art Career by New York: Free Press, 2009. Covers a variety of topics including opening a studio, residencies & grants, getting into shows, working with galleries, and more.
Artist's Guide, How to Make a Living Doing What You Love by Philadelphia, PA : Da Capo Press, 2009. A guide for both emerging and mid-career artists with real-life examples, illustrations, and step-by-step exercises, on all aspects of the being an artist.
Starting Your Career as an Artist: a Guide for Painters, Sculptors, Photographers, and Other Visual Artists by New York: Allworth Press, Skyhorse Publishing, 2011. Covers topics such as setting up your studio, developing marketing plans, finding exhibition venues, and more.
Art Inc. by San Francisco: Chronicle Books, [2014]. In this practical guide, professional artist Lisa Congdon reveals the many ways you can earn a living by making art--through illustration, licensing, fine art sales, print sales, teaching, and beyond.
Online Resources for Grants/Fellowships/Scholarships
American Center for Artists Resource for information about grants and organizations.
Cranbrook Academy of Art Library List of visual arts grants.
Art Deadlines List Ongoing list of visual arts opportunities (grants, jobs, calls for entries, etc.)
Foundation for Contemporary Arts Offers grants for groups and individuals.
National Endowment for the Arts Federal resource for grants and other opportunities.
Art World Views
Seven Days in the Art World by New York: W.W. Norton, c2008. Highly Recommended. Inner workings of the subcultures that make up the contemporary art world.
The Contemporaries: Travels in the 21st-century Art World by New York: Bloomsbury, 2015. A behind the paint-splattered scenes of today’s diffuse art world--revealing contemporary art through an artist’s eyes.
