SuDoc Classification
The Federal Depository Collection at the University of Kansas Libraries is shelved by SuDoc classification. The SuDoc (Superintendent of Documents classification) is a provenance based classification system.
Learn more about the SuDoc classification system:
- Learning SuDocs Call Numbersvia Michigan State University
Search by SuDoc number
SuDoc call numbers cannot be searched in the KU Online Catalog. Please try the following or ask for assistance.
The following examples are searching for the title Western hemisphere immigration, published in 1930.
The SuDoc assigend to this Congressional Hearing is:
Y 4.Im 6/1:W 52/4
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowIn the "keyword" search box enter "gn:" followed by the SuDoc number removing all spaces and punctuation.
keyword: gn:y4im61w524 - Monthly catalog of U.S. government publications, 1895-1976 This link opens in a new windowIn the "keyword" search box enter the full SuDoc number with all punctuation and spacing as a quoted phrase.
"Y 4.Im 6/1:W 52/4" - ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowIn the left navigation click on "search by number". Scroll down to the "Bibliographic Citations" section and click on the radio buttons for "Bibliographic Number: Sudoc". Enter the SuDoc number with punctuation but remove spaces.
y4.im6/1:w52/4
Pre-1976 Government Publications Online Catalogs and Indexes
Unlike government publications published since 1976, most earlier titles are NOT listed in the KU Online Catalog. For pre-1976 paper and microfiche government publications use these online indexes and catalogs to find shelving call number (the SuDoc classification number).
- Public Documents Masterfilevia Paratext
Select in the search results:
Cumulative Title Index 1789-1976 with SuDocs Numbers
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowNote: SuDoc numbers are sometimes included in the records as "Class Descriptors: GovDoc"
Full-Text Sources
Many legacy federal publications are now available electronically. Some sources are compiled by commercial aggregators and the KU Libraries has licensed the content. Other sources are open access and free available to the public. These are some of the major full text resources used to find and access the full text content.
- U.S. Congressional serial set (Readex) This link opens in a new windowCompilation of the congressional publications: House Documents, House Misc. Documents, House Reports, Senate Documents Senate Treaty Documents and Senate Reports.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline has law-related subject and title collections that are image-based and fully searchable, including many legacy US federal document titles: U.S. Statutes at Large, United States Code, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, Foreign Relations of the United States, Congressional Record, US Reports, presidential public papers, and more.
- Internet Archive USA Government Documents collectionCollection contains digital versions of over 20,500 United States Government documents.
- HathiTrust digital library This link opens in a new windowa partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. there are over 2,600.000 public domain title which includes US government publications.
- ProQuest legislative insight This link opens in a new windowProQuest legislative insight module A is a Federal legislative history service that makes available thoroughly researched compilations of digital full text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws.
This resource is being supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries and the School of Law.
Congressional Publication Indexing
The KU Libraries has an extensive congressional colleciton.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowProvides comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information, including congressional publications and documents, statistics, current members of Congress and congressional committees, and regulatory and statutory information. This database also includes a component ‘Executive branch publications from 1789 to 1932’ covering topics that span business and industry, foreign trade, navigation, immigration and population, health, causes of death, religious affiliations, military operations, and weather conditions.