Current News on Africa
- Breaking News on Africa (CNN)Lists current news reports from CNN
U.S. Bureau of African Affairs
- U.S. Dept. of State / Bureau of African AffairsIncludes quick links to major reports, background notes, press releases, and fact sheets.
Google Scholar
NewsReports
- AllAfrica.comProvides access to the latest news from and about Africa, with over 700 news stories posted daily for all areas of the African continent. Also available is a 400,000-item searchable archive dating from 1997 to the present. Coverage includes the contents of 127 currently published African newspapers, as well as news feeds from 330 additional African and international news organizations. Articles are sorted by region, topic, and language (English or French). AllAfrica.com is generally considered to be the best source for current news on Africa.
- Cooperative African Newspapers Project"The core of the Cooperative African Newspapers Project is the African Newspapers Union List (AFRINUL), a centralized electronic database of holdings information for newspapers (all formats and all languages) published in sub-Saharan Africa. AFRINUL currently consolidates holdings information for collections in North America, and will expand to include holdings in Africa, Europe, and elsewhere."-- From the CRL Global Resources site
- Electronic Newspapers on AfricaThis is a collection of newspapers from Africa
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) daily reports This link opens in a new windowThe Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Report has been the United States' principal historical record of political open source intelligence for nearly 70 years. The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. The dates of coverage for the daily reports are 1941-1974 and annexes from 1974-1996.
- United Nations Humanitarian News Service (IRIN)News features available from the UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs; searchable by region, country, or theme.
- World News ConnectionProvides timely and pertinent open-source material from non-U.S. media sources. Material provided to the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) by analysts from the Open Source Center's (OSC) domestic and overseas bureaus. Successor to the daily reports from the Foreign Broadcasting Information Service (FBIS) and reports from the Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) . Content focuses primarily on military, political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and is compiled from non-U.S. media sources. WNC is the only news service that allows you to take advantage of the intelligence gathering experience of OSC.
