Multimedia Textbooks
Below are some textbooks from the KU library collection, that include audio recordings to accompany the main text.
Learning spoken Chinese by rhythmic chants by Call Number: PL1074.8 .H36 2006 disc 1ISBN: 7900689052
Reading about China
Check out the KU library collection which has a great selection of book titles on Chinese language and culture. To find more books, Search the KU library webpage and type in "China", or other related search terms that you are interested in.
China by ISBN: 082496814X
Factory girls : from village to city in a changing China by Call Number: HD9734.C55 C53 2008ISBN: 0385520174The urban realities and rural roots' story in Modern China.
Look What Came From China by ISBN: 0531159361This book explores the foods, words, inventions, tools, customs and religions of China. It serves as a reference source for school projects,
The Rise of Modern China by ISBN: 0195125045It includes history of China from the Qing dynasty to the beginning of 21st century.
Sesame Street in China
Seeing China
Welcome to the China information page for K-12 students and teachers. This page offers a wide range of resources and links to learn about Chinese language and culture. Whether you are planning a trip to China, or simply want to learn more about the country, the links on this page will help deepen your understanding of the China and its place in the world today.
Knowing China
How much do you know about China? What questions do you have about the country and its people? Find the answers to some of your questions below!
- Ancient China - British MuseumThe British Museum has a vast collection of Ancient China Art.
- Ask AsiaAsk Asia is a K-12 Resource of the Asia Society. It offers easy, 24 hours access to high-quality, classroom-tested resources and cultural information, engaging games and activities, and links.
- BBC China profileChina's country file from the British Broadcasting Corporation. It includes information about economy, society, media etc.
- Library of Congress, China porfileIt includes history background, society, economy and government and politics of China.
- The World Bank China profileThe world bank provide China's country profile both in English and Chinese.
- The World FactbookA reference resource produced by the Central Intelligence Agency of the United States
- UNESCO ChinaBrief statistics about Chinese education in all levels.
- United Nation -- ChinaThis internet based data service provided by the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) includes statistical information collected by the United Nations System from member states on a variety of topics.
Festivals in China
The traditional Chinese holidays are a distinctive part of Chinese culture and have unique traditions and celebrations in different parts of the country. Check out the links below to learn more.
- Chinese New YearIntroductions about Chinese New Year.
- Traditional Chinese holidaysIt includes Chinese traditional festivals and lists all dates for them from 2008-2015.
Resources for Learning Chinese
Finding the right materials can make all the difference in learning Chinese. Take a look at the resources below that can help you learn to read, write, understand and speak Chinese. Most of these resources are free, although some of them require paid subsrciptions.
- China360onlineChina 360 is a website sponsored by The China Institute.
- Language MixxerThe Language Mixxer is a free educational website for language exchange using Skype.
- K-12 resources at KUEast Asian Library's K-12 libguide, which includes workshops, teacher's association, electronic discussion group and other resources for teachers.
- KidsClick! ChinaA web search site designed for kids, including information of history, culture, art and many others.
- The Association for Asian StudiesThe Association for Asian Studies (AAS) is a scholarly professional association open to all persons interested in the study of Asia. The website provides information about conference, jobs, publicationof Asian countries, including China.
- Chinese PodA podcast with thousands of podcast lessons on a variety of themes. Suitable for beginning through advanced learners. (Must subscribe and pay)
- SinospliceSinosplice offers book reviews on textbooks for learning Chinese as well as strategies for learning all aspects of the language.
- Pop Up ChineseThis Chinese podcast service offers free language podcasts, although premium services must be paid through subscription.
Cultures in China
Chinese culture is rich and diverse, with a long history that has involved people from many cutlural groups and traditions. Even today there is a wide variety of cultures that exist in China. Read on to discover more about the diversity that exists around the country and the artistic and musical expressions of the people over the ages.
- China the BeautifulIntroduction and samples of Chinese Classical Chinese Art, Calligraphy, Poetry, History, Literature, Painting and Philosophy.
- The China Experience: China Culture Index“Food and drink, dance, music, philosophy, architecture, literature, festivals, clothing, arts and crafts, and more. ”
- Chinese Ethnic GroupsThis site introduces some of the 56 ethic groups in China.
Chinese language programs in China and the US
The language intitutes and training programs shown here have been designed to give students the change to learn Chinese language and culture, often in an intensive immersion experience.
- Star Talk Chinese Student ProgramsHas links to dozens of Chinese summer programs in China and immersion programs in the US.
- 2011 Summer Institutes in ChinaThe summer institute program provides opportunity to Experience modern China and participate in cultural activities highlighting arts, cultural landmarks, and more.
- National Security Language Initiative for YouthSummer, semester and academic-year intensive programs under the Department of State for high school students to study abroad and learn Arabic, Chinese, Farsi, Hindi, Korean, Russian, and Turkish.
- Middlebury Language Academcy in ChinaMiddlebury's unique immersion approach is renowned around the world.
Listen to Masterpieces of Chinese Music
Recommended documentaries
Watching documentaries about China can offer insights into Chinese culture and help you to learn the Chinese language. Below are some documentaries that you may check out from the KU library. If you are interested in browsing Chinese movies, please go to the Chinese Movie Database webpage.
China on the riseCall Number: DVD HC427.95 .C445 20062006
Run Time: 73 minutes.
"Economics correspondent Paul Solman examines the rise of China as a global economic power--and the challenges that lie before it."
China unleashing the dragonCall Number: HC427.92 .C46458 19951995
Run Time: 203 minutes.
"Documentary showing the effects of the economic reforms on China’s and Hong Kong’s economy and culture."
Red capitalism [videorecording] by Call Number: HC427.92 .R42 1990zNew York : Filmakers Library [distributor], [199-?]
The giant awakesCall Number: HC427 .G53 19941994
Run Time: 150 minutes.
"Examines China’s newly emerged economic power and looks at the problems associated with China’s economic reform, including internal and external pressure for political liberalization."
The art of war by Call Number: U101 .S9524 1994An ancient Chinese military treatise written by Sun-tzu, a great general in ancient China.
Experience Chinese Art and Music
Most of the resources below are links to museum digital collections where you can view high quality images of Chinese paintings, ceramics, and calligraphy as well as listen to Chinese music, modern and traditional.
- Timeline of Chinese Art HistoryIncludes examples of representative pieces from each period and a description of their connection to historical events.
- National Palace Museum Digital CollectionExtensive site with numerous examples of various traditional art forms.
- The Minneapolis Institute of Arts Guide to Chinese CeramicsIncludes high quality images of Chinese ceramics from every period of production.
- Freer / Sackler Museum Online Collection of Chinese PaintingsBrowse thousands of high quality images of Chinese paintings from the museum collection!
- Brushstrokes: Styles and Techniques of Chinese PaintingDeveloped by Asian Art Museum San Francisco
- The Ancient Art of Writing: Selections from the History of Chinese CalligraphyNational Palace Museum (Taipei) website