Company and Industry Information: Basic Sources: Companies & Industries: Basic information

This guide provides information about company and industry-related print and electronic resources available in the KU Libraries, including the Regents Center Library at the KU Edwards campus in Overland Park, Kansas.

Suggested databases

 

Basic Sources for Company and Industry Information

KU Libraries databases:

To use these resources, go to the KU Libraries Web at www.lib.ku.edu  and note the A-Z” database listing.  Select the letter corresponding to the first letter of the title of the database.

Business Insights: Essentials

Business Insights: Essentials (formerly Business and Company Resource Center) provides business and industry content in the following areas: periodical articles, news articles, and press releases; detailed information for domestic and international companies and associations, including information on corporate hierarchical structures; investment reports; corporate chronologies and company histories; brands and product information; industry and company rankings; financial overviews; industry overviews; HR Law Case Digests.

Business source complete

This database provides full text from more than 7,400 scholarly business journals (over 1,100 are peer-reviewed) and periodicals covering management economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top business journals and is particularly strong in both management and marketing, including Harvard Business Review and California Management Review. The database also holds country economic reports from the EIU, DRI-WEFA, ICON Group and CountryWatch. Business Source Premier contains expanded indexing and abstract back files for 300 top scholarly business journals dating back to 1965, or the first issue published (whichever is more recent). Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports from Datamonitor, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses

Corporate affiliations

This database allows the user to research corporate hierarchies ("who owns whom") to the seventh level of reporting relationships, starting with as little information as a brand name. The Directory of Corporate Affiliations(tm) database covers more than 200,000 of the most prominent U.S. and international public and private businesses and includes information about parent companies, affiliates, subsidiaries, and divisions worldwide to help you research corporate ownership.

IBISWorld

IBISWorld's team of expert analysts covers 700 different market segments. Each industry report presents market research and industry information, and each market report is available online in HTML and PDF format. IBISWorld Industry Reports are used for understanding market size, competitors, drafting business plans, pitch books, benchmarking, forecasting, business valuations, litigation support, due diligence and more.

ISI emerging markets

This database includes full-text primary news sources, financial data, statistics, and legal information. This source also includes a multilingual collection of news and information sources about the emerging markets of selected countries in Latin America, Europe, Asia, the Middle East, and North Africa.

LexisNexis academic 

This database provides access to: full-text of current news and up to the last 20 years; full-text company news & financial information; full-text federal, state & international legal materials; full-text and abstracted medical & health information; general reference sources.

Plunkett research online

Plunkett Research Online provides industry analysis, company profiles and market research information for over 30 industries. Also provided are links for job seekers.  
 

ProQuest Historical Annual Reports

Offers information on companies, including financial performance, key officers, competitors, and market trends.


RedBooks.com

RedBooks.com provides competitive intelligence and prospecting data to media companies, advertising agencies, manufacturers, advertising services and suppliers about the advertising industry. Within this product, the Advertiser Database contains information on nearly 18,000 U.S. and international advertisers who each spend more than $200,000 annually on advertising. The Agency Database provides profiles of nearly 14,000 U.S. and international agencies, including accounts represented by each agency, fields of specialization, and more. (Restricted to 1 simultaneous user.)


SeekEdgar


FRAANK (Financial Reporting and Auditing Agent with Net Knowledge) gets financial information from 20K and 10Q, parses them, and populates an Excel spreadsheet. Seek-Inf (Search Engine for Extracting Knowledge from Industrial Filings) searches for non-financial and financial information from the following SEC filings: 8K, 10K, 10Q, 13F, DEF, 14A, S-1, Comment Letters, Response Letters, 20F, 40F, and AAERs.


Small Business Reference Center

Provides up-to-date information on topics related to starting a company, operations management, sales, and growing or rescuing a business.

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage

NetAdvantage is a comprehensive source of business and investment information that offers online access to Standard & Poor's research-related products such as industry surveys, stock reports, corporation records, The Outlook, mutual fund reports and more. NetAdvantage offers screening tools, private company information, and the ability to download data into spreadsheet programs for further analysis. Dates of coverage: Current with some older information (back to 4 years).

Value Line research center

The Value Line Research Center includes on-line access to Value Line's leading publications covering stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks. This service includes full subscriptions to: The Value Line Investment Survey; The Value Line Investment Survey - Small and Mid-Cap Edition; The Value Line Mutual Fund Survey; The Value Line Daily Options Survey; The Value Line Special Situations Service; The Value Line Convertibles Survey; and Exchange Traded Funds (ETFs).

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Carmen Orth-Alfie
she/her
Contact:
University of Kansas Libraries
Watson Library
(785) 864-8929