*Art History Resources: Selected Art Journals

•       ART Asia Pacific. Covers the contemporary arts of the Asia and Pacific region, 1993- 

•       Artibus Asiae. Journal of Asian art and archaeology for scholars and connoisseurs, 1925-; JSTOR covers 1925-2009  

•       Arts of Asia. Lavishly illustrated art magazine covering every aspect of Asian art, 1970- 

•      Asian Art News. Covers Asia-Pacific art and artists for collectors, museums, galleries and artists, 1991-  

       Orientations, For collectors and connoisseurs of Asian art. Presents the ancient arts of painting, calligraphy, bronzes, and ceramics, as well as the decorative arts and crafts. Includes coverage of contemporary artists, 1970- 

•       Gesta, Scholarly journal from the International Center of Medieval Art, 1963-; 1963-2007 available through JSTOR

•      Speculum, multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary journal with scholarly essays on the Middle Ages; 1926-2007 available through JSTOR; recent issues available through Cambridge Journals Online

There are literally hundreds of art journals currently published and even more that have existed in the past. Here just a sample of some of the titles that cover a broad spectrum.

Art Bulletin, 1919-. Recent issues available at Call Number: N 11.C4. Published by the College Art Association, this journal has research articles on topics from all periods of art history.

Art Journal, 1960-. College Art Journal, 1941-60. Published by the College Art Association, this journal provides ideas and opinions that focus on critical and aesthetic issues in the visual arts of our time.

Artforum, 1982-. Covers the contemporary art world with sections on architecture, music advertising and reviews of contemporary exhibitions worldwide.

Burlington Magazine, 1948-. Burlington Magazine for Connoisseurs, 1903-47. Recent issues are in the Art & Architecture Library at Call Number folio N1.B95. Fine art magazine, international in scope, covering all periods from antiquity to the present day.

Oxford Art Journal, 1978-. Addresses historical and philosophical issues concerning visual culture while seeking to provide an alternative to mainstream art history journals.

•       Bulletin van het Rijksmuseum, 1953-;  Rijksmuseum Bulletin, 2009-, museum publication

•       Journal of Historians of Netherlandish Art, semi-annual journal that focuses on art produced in the Netherlands (north and south) during the early modern period (c. 1400-c.1750), 2009-

•       Oud Holland, history of Dutch and Flemish art, available online & in paper, 1883-

•       Nederlands Kunsthistorisch Jaarboek, scholarly annual publication, 1947-, available online.

•       Simiolus, focuses on the 15^th-18^th c art in the Netherlands, 1967-, older issues available through JSTOR & newer ones at N5.S55

•       Frieze: contemporary art and culture, 1991-

•       Modern Painters, Not devoted exclusively to painting as the title implies; brings together leading voices in visual arts criticism and analysis, 1988-, available from 1994- through Art Full Text

•       Parkett, Documents European and American contemporary art. Each issue covers several important artists and is produced in close collaboration with those artists.1984-

         Whitewall, Documents the Unseen world of contemporary art. 2006-