Resources for Students
- Bridging the gap : public-interest architectural internships byCall Number: NA2750 .B688 2011Raleigh, NC: Lulu Press; [2011]. The editors assembled 21 contributors to share their diverse perspectives on the topic of public-interest internships. The volume explores "the theoretical implications as well as the benefits of these critical professional experiences in academia and beyond.”
- American Institute of Architecture StudentsFounded in 1956, AIAS is an independent, non-profit and student-run organization committed to being the official voice of architecture students.
- ARCHcareersA blog from Lee Waldrep that discusses the process of becoming an architect.
What an Architecture Student Should Know by Call Number: NA2000 .K76 2014New York: Routledge, 2014. Every architecture student is initially baffled by architecture school - an education so different that it doesn’t compare to anything else. With this book you will make it through the program, live up to your expectations, and finally know what is going on.
Becoming an Architect : a guide to careers in design by Call Number: NA1995 .W35 2014Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, Inc., [2014]. 3rd ed. Provides an overview of the profession, including educational requirements, design specialties, registration requirements, and the paths of a career in architecture.
Architecture Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Encyclopedia of 20th Century Architecture by Call Number: NA680 .E495 20043v. New York: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2004. More than 700 alphabetially arranged entries providing basic information on a variety of subjects.
Oxford Art Online, Gateway access to Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference resources. Includes subject entries and biographies for many historical and modern architectural topics.
Almanac of Architecture & Design, Annual publication from Design Intelligence; includes searchable database of US Architecture Firms, a list of significant buildings organized by building type, important awards, and a variety of statistics.
- Encyclopedia of the Vernacular Architecture of the World byCall Number: NA208 .E53 19973v. Cambridge, UK; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1997. Multidisciplinary encyclopedia on the traditional architecture of the world.
Oxford Companion to Architecture by New York: Oxford University Press, 2009. More than 1500 A-Z entries covering all aspects of architecture with high-quality illustrations, and a bibliographic essay.- The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of 20th Century Architecture byLondon: Thames & Hudson, 2000, c1986. Covers the whole spectrum of architecture and urban planning in the 20th century, and of leading architects and engineers the world over.
Green Building A to Z: Understanding the Language of Green Building by Call Number: TH880 .Y633 2007Gabriola, BC: New Society Publishers, c2007. Offers the basics of green building and shows how it relates to key issues such as water conservation, healthy buildings, use of recycled materials, reduction of carbon dioxide, and environmental site planning.
Textbooks
A Global History of Architecture by Call Number: NA200 .C493 20112nd. Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley, c2011. Chronologically organized, the work spans the globe within each time period, occasionally taking time to discuss certain styles and major historical periods, but devoting most of its space to specific architectural works.
Buildings Across Time by Call Number: NA200 .M575 2009Boston: McGraw-Hill, c2008. Provides a detailed survey of Western architecture, including Pre-Columbian America, and a perspective of traditions in architecture throughout the world.
World Architecture by Call Number: NA200 .I54 2013New York: Oxford University Press, 2013. Integrates extensive coverage of world and contemporary architecture in order to provide the most comprehensive survey in the field. Presented chronologically, each chapter now focuses on three unique architectural cultures.
Understanding Architecture by Call Number: NA2500 .R68 2014Boulder: Westview Press, 2014. 3rd ed. Illustrated survey of Western architecture explaining the structure, function, history, and meaning of architecture; this edition includes increased global coverage and covers the future of architecture in the 21st century.
A New History of Modern Architecture by Call Number: NA680 .D37 2017ISBN: 1786270560London : Laurence King Publishing Ltd, 2017. With over 800 photographs, plans, and sections, this text is organized largely as a chronology of key themes including typologies, movements, and biographical studies.
DVDs & Streaming Video
The KU Libraries are actively collecting DVDs and have subscriptions to various Streaming Video packages.
To learn what DVDs are available, use the Library Catalog or go to the Library and browse the DVDs. Library DVDs are usually available to be checked out for 1 week. Here are a few examples of what's available in the Art & Architecture Library - Video/DVD collection:
- The alchemy of building the architects Herzog & de Meuron52 min. A film by Beat Kuert.
- Building big : with David Macaulay5 discs. 60 min. ea. This series explores the creators and builders, disasters and personal triumphs behind dams, tunnels, skyscrapers, domes and bridges.
- Defying gravity three documentaries110 min. Three documentaries on the design, construction and installation of the Frederic C. Hamilton Building, designed by Daniel Libeskind, at the Denver Art Museum.
To learn what Streaming Videos are available and how to use them in classes, consult the guide that describes the various products. Some examples of architectural titles include:
- Tadao Ando: Samurai Architect52 min. Tadao Ando is a world-renowned architect and the recipient of the Pritzker Architecture Prize, the profession’s highest honor. He has captivated people around the globe with elegant concrete designs that reflect the Zen principle of simplicity.
- Studio Gang Architects: Aqua Tower27 min. Jeanne Gang, founder of Studio Gang, gave the epithet "Chicago School" a new meaning.
Gang, who started her architectural practice in Chicago in 1997, completed Aqua, an 82-story apartment tower, overlooking the city's Millennium Park in 2009. - Frank Lloyd Wright: Part I (part of the PBS series: Ken Burns' American Lives)83 min. Frank Lloyd Wright tells the story of the greatest of all American architects. Wright was an authentic American genius, a man who believed he was destined to redesign the world, creating everything anew. Over the course of his long career, he designed over eight hundred buildings, including such revolutionary structures as the Guggenheim Museum, the Johnson Wax Building, Fallingwater, Unity Temple and Taliesin. His buildings and his ideas changed the way we live, work and see the world around us.