About
Study & Analysis
The Palgrave Handbook of Olympic Studies by Call Number: GV721.5 .P27 2012ISBN: 9780230246539Publication Date: 2012-04-15A collection of 36 articles (including the Introduction) that examine key social and political issues related to the Olympics. Provides a critical assessment of Olympic history, practice and theory. Covers key issues in depth and explores alternatives. Discusses converversies associated with many of the modern games, especially during the past two decades.
Olympic Studies and Analysis
Olympic Studies & Analysis
A few centers around the world are dedicated specifically to Olympic studies, providing access to related journal articles and papers.
- Australian Centre for Olympic Studies (ACOS)
Based at the University of Technology Sydney, ACOS lists an impressive bibliography of approximately 1,800 major research publications. - International Society of Olympic Historians (ISOH)
The ISOH website provides online access to bibliography and full-text articles from their periodical "Journal of Olympic History". - Mega Event CitiesThis website shares working papers, essays, and articles about the social impact of mega events, including the Olympics.
- Olympic Studies CentreThe IOC's official research center provides online access to research publications, as well as conference opportunities and research grants.
General Databases
Useful Databases
- EconLit
The American Economic Association's electronic bibliography and index - Open Access Theses and Dissertations
OATD is a resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world, from over 80 research institutions. - SPORTDiscus
One of the leading bibliographic databases on sports, physical fitness, and sports medicine.
Programs
Olympic Education
- Russian International Olympic University (RIOU)
RIOU is the world's first Olympic University, located in Sochi, Russia.RIOU's programs are dedicated to sport business education and career training for previous Olympic athletes.
Host-City Specific
Host- City Specific
- University of East London (UEL)
Funded by the UK government, UEC conducted research in the impact of the Olympic movement during the 2012 London Olympics.