What is Third Iron?
What is Third Iron?
This guide provides an overview of Third Iron research tools, designed to streamline access to full text resources available through KU Libraries. There are multiple Third Iron tools to help with finding full text content, including:
- BrowZine - browse, read, and save citations to scholarly journals; set up email alerts for new articles from your favorite journals
- LibKey links in Search Our Collections - use improved full text links in the catalog
- LibKey.io - get full text fast using this DOI/PMID lookup tool
- LibKey Nomad browser extension - get full text article links while browsing the open web
BrowZine
BrowZine provides an easy browsing option for discovering KU Libraries scholarly journal content by pulling together articles from library subscription databases, joining them into complete issues, and displaying them in a virtual library view. A downloadable app or a desktop version is available.
BrowZine App
BrowZine App is an app for your iPad or Android tablet that lets you download and browse scholarly journals.
To access BrowZine, go to the App Store on your iPad or Android App on Google Play or the Amazon Appstore for Android.
Search for BrowZine in the search box.
Once you have downloaded the BrowZine app, choose University of Kansas from the institution drop down menu and log in using your KU Online ID and password.
Now you are ready to search or browse the journals in your discipline and read them on your tablet.
BrowZine Web
BrowZine for the web brings all the benefits mobile users enjoy to the web-based environment, extending access to desktop and laptop devices.
Highlights include expanded data sources, abstracts, ILL Integration, EndNote Integration, transformative URLs, and ability to create and share reading lists.
BrowZine Tutorial
LibKey
LibKey is an API, or application programming interface, that works with KU Libraries subscriptions to provide quick, one-click access to the full text of journal articles available to KU users.
LibKey Link
LibKey works with library databases to connect users directly to the full text PDF of an article when searching through the online catalog at lib.ku.edu. It works with all browsers. To use LibKey in KU's collections, look for the buttons that allow you to 'Download PDF' or 'View Complete Issue'.
LibKey.io
LibKey.io allows users to get full text fast using a DOI or PMID. Searching this web-based browser connects to the full text of articles available through KU Libraries. The first time you use LibKey.io you will need to select University of Kansas as your library.
After searching for a DOI or PMID you will be taken to the LibKey landing page with options for viewing the PDF or HTML version of the article (if available).
LibKey Nomad Browser Extension
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that connects users with library-licensed and open access full text articles. LibKey Nomad is available for most major browsers, including Google Chrome, Firefox, and Safari. When using LibKey Nomad, users are automatically directed to the best available version of an article so there is no need to search multiple places. When the full text is not available you will be provided with options to request the article through InterLibrary Loan (ILL).
LibKey Nomad does not require the creation of a personal account, it does not track users or hold credentials, and it is only active when on the web page of a scholarly publisher or database.
Ask a Librarian
We can help with your research questions -- contact us by chat, phone, email, text or at a Research Help desk.