African Studies : Getting Started

The International African Bibliography Online (IABO) is a leading specialist bibliography of African Studies. It already contains 140.000 entries from the International African Bibliography published in the years 1971 to 2021. About 4.000 new entries will be added every year. The IABO can be browsed by categories and offers detailed search options.

The Daily Observer or Liberian Observer is an independent national newspaper founded in 1981 by Kenneth Y. Best, a renowned Liberian journalist, and his wife, Mae Gene Traub Best. For more than 40 years, the Daily Observer has chronicled all facets of life, culture, and political development in the key West African state of Liberia. Due to its independent editorial stance, the Daily Observer has been recognized for its coverage of public life.

In addition to overview essays, this source provides access to historical primary resources, including films, as well as access to scholarly journals covering the African Diaspora.

Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Provides online access to reference resources in African studies, including the Encyclopedia of African History, Black Women in Africa, and Africana, a history of the African experience. Includes African National Biography project and the Encyclopedia of African Art and Architecture. Offers other key resources from Oxford's reference program, including the Concise Oxford Companion to African Literature and selected articles from other reference sources

Criticizing governments remained dangerous in many African countries. Brutal crackdowns against those who protested government excesses, failures, or allegations of corruption, were pervasive and particularly targeted journalists, human rights defenders, activists and opposition leaders and members.