Library Links
Library databases
The following databases may be accessed by selecting the links below. Additional databases may be found by viewing the KU Libraries main page at www.lib.ku.edu.
Provides abstracts of articles on business and management from U.S. and international professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines, and regional business publications. Full-text articles are available for a significant portion of journals indexed. The subscription includes access to ABI/INFORM Dateline, Global, Trade & Industry, and Archive.
Provides business and industry content in the following areas: periodical articles, news articles, and press releases; detailed information for domestic and international companies and associations, including information on corporate hierarchical structures; investment reports; corporate chronologies and company histories; brands and product information; industry and company rankings; financial overviews; and industry overviews.
This database provides full text from more than 7,400 scholarly business journals (over 1,100 are peer-reviewed) and periodicals covering management economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top business journals and is particularly strong in both management and marketing, including Harvard Business Review and California Management Review. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports from Datamonitor, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Expert analysts provide reports for over 700 different market segments. Each industry report presents market research and industry information, and each market report is available online in HTML and PDF format. Reports are used for understanding market size, competitors, drafting business plans, pitch books, benchmarking, forecasting, business valuations, litigation support, due diligence and more.
The Kansas City Business Journal gives access to local business news in Kansas City and 39 other cities around the U.S. with a focus on small and medium-sized businesses.
Provides access to: full-text of current news and up to the last 20 years; full-text company news & financial information; full-text federal, state & international legal materials; full-text and abstracted medical & health information; general reference sources. Try the beta version.
Marketing data and demographics
A global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys, and breaking news on industries, countries, and consumers worldwide. Access to this this resource requires you to login with your KU online ID and password and to then click Agree to the terms of use presented by Euromonitor.
Proquest Historical Annual Reports
Offers information on companies, including financial performance, key officers, competitors, and market trends.
Provides competitive intelligence and prospecting data to media companies, advertising agencies, manufacturers, advertising services and suppliers about the advertising industry. Within this product, the Advertiser Database contains information on nearly 18,000 U.S. and international advertisers. The Agency Database provides profiles of nearly 14,000 U.S. and international agencies. (Restricted to 1 simultaneous user.) Please click on SIGN OFF when done searching.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
NetAdvantage is a comprehensive source of business and investment information that offers online access to Standard & Poor's research-related products such as industry surveys, stock reports, corporation records, The Outlook, mutual fund reports and more. NetAdvantage offers screening tools, private company information, and the ability to download data into spreadsheet programs for further analysis. Dates of coverage: Current with some older information (back to 4 years).
Plunkett Research Online provides industry analysis, company profiles and market research information for over 30 industries.
Small Business Reference Center--available at:
The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news. Coverage extends from 1984 to 24 hours ago.
Other useful databases are available that are not specifically business-centric. I suggest you consider using these:
