Learn More about Consumer Market Research
- Market ResearchChapter from an Open Textbook
After reading this chapter, you will be able to:
-Understand what market research is
-View market research as a useful information source
-Know how to access and read market research reports
-Evaluate the credibility of market research
Learn More about Researching Publicly Trade Companies
- Public CompaniesChapter from an Open Textbook
After reading this chapter, you will be able to:
-Define and identify public companies.
-Explain why public company filings are worth locating and reading.
-Evaluate the credibility of public company filings.
-Access and read a company’s 10-K and DEF 14A documents.
Resources for Market/Industry
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowExpert analysts provide reports for over 700 different market segments. Each industry report presents market research and industry information, and each market report is available online in HTML and PDF format. Reports are used for understanding market size, competitors, drafting business plans, pitch books, benchmarking, forecasting, business valuations, litigation support, due diligence and more.
KU has coverage for the most current year for the unlimited access to the following collections:
700+ US NAICS Industry Reports; 700+ US NAICS Industry iExpert Summaries; NEW 750+ US Specialized Industry Reports; NEW 750+ US Specialized Industry iExpert Summaries; 280+ China CICS Industry Reports; 70+ Global Industry Report
Additional Resource for Market/Industry Research
- Business: Insights (Gale) This link opens in a new windowFormerly known as Business Insights: Essentials, this database provides business and industry content in the following areas: periodical articles, news articles, and press releases; detailed information for domestic and international companies and associations, including information on corporate hierarchical structures; investment reports; corporate chronologies and company histories; brands and product information; industry and company rankings; financial overviews; industry overviews; HR Law Case Digests.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 15,000 full-text news, legal and business sources. Includes journal articles, television and radio broadcasts, newswires, and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers; legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; business information on 80 million U.S. and international companies and 75 million executives. Replaces LexisNexis Academic.
Additional Business Information Databases
- Business source complete This link opens in a new windowIndexing and abstracts covering business related, peer reviewed journals, books, case studies, company profiles, industry reports, and country economic reports.
This resource is being supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries and the State Library of Kansas.
Local and Regional News Sources
IBIS World - Industry Research Reports
Step by Step Guide to Accessing the Mintel Report Database
Mintel's licensed database is available through KU Libraries website, lib.ku.edu. To use Mintel you will need to following these steps.
1. Go to lib.ku.edu
2. Click on "Articles and Databases."
3. Click in "m" for Mintel. Then scroll down and Click on Mintel to open the database. 
OR, click on the browse options to explore the database.
4. Please read the short licensing agreement first check the box to accept the "Conditions of Use" and the agreement and then click on "I accept" to proceed.
5. Now you can use the database. Tutorials and guides for using the Mintel are included in this guide.