Creative Commons, locate images to use where the creator gives different levels of permission. All the information is included with images for proper citation. Includes sources such as Flickr, Wikipedia Commons, Google Images, YouTube, Openverse and many more.
Open Image Collections, a collection of digital image sources suitable for teaching, learning and research. Sources include museum digital collections, stock images, photo archives, design resources and image search engines.
OpenGLAM Collections, brings together collections from around the world that provide digital scans or photos that can be freely used without any restrictions.
Library of Congress Prints and Photographs, includes photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings held by the Library fo Congress.
NYPL Digital Collections, access to over 685,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Art Resource, a large commercial photo archive of fine art from prehistoric times to the present. Includes over three million transparencies and black and white photographs of works cross-referenced by subject, title, artist, period, place, and medium.
ARTstor, licensed image resource with over one million images on a diverse set of cultures, times, and subjects. You will need to create an account using your KU login/password to download images. For more help see the library guide, ARTstor Help and Tutorials.
KU Image Collections, digitized collections from KU libraries, museums, and academic departments are availble in the KU Libraries Quick Search Tool located at the top of the KU Libraries home page. Once you enter a search and receive yoru results you can refine by format on the right side of the page.
AskART, database with information on over 200,000 artists--includes biographies, bibliographies, images, auction information, and museum collections.
Oxford Art Online, an encyclopedia of art, architecture and design information that provides a good starting point for research. Content includes biographies, subject entries, and images. Articles are signed by recognized scholars.
UbuWeb, a web-based educational resource for avant-garde material, includes video and sound.
American Experience, history series that brings to life the incredible characters and epic stories that have shaped America's past and present. This link features full episodes and clips, but additnal titles fromt he sereis are provided by the KU Libraries.
American Memory, a limited number of early films from the collections of the library of Congress.
The Archive of American Television, a large database of interviews with important individuals in the history of television.
Folkstreams, this website contains hard-to-find documentary films about American folk or roots cultures.
Internet Archive, The Moving Image Archive contains nearly a quarter million films, uploaded by Archive users, and ranging from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Included films can be browsed by subject or keyword searched.
WGBH Open Vault, A wide variety of contemporary and historical content from this PBS television station and NPR radio station.
TED, recorded presentations presented at various TED events around the world.
Tubi, an ad-supported video-on-demand service with more than 35,000 movies and TV shows--includes documentaries.
Kanopy, a streaming video on-demand service which provides access to educational films.
Films on Demand, contains over 22,000 videos covering a variety of academic areas. The films can be played in their entirety or made into smaller segments.
Electronic Arts Intermix, spans the mid-1960s to the present, and is recognized as one of the most comprehensive video art collections in the world.
Swank Digital Campus, contains 1,000 streaming films and documentaries, including many feature films.
Academic Video Online, this database provides access to many of the streaming video titles provided by Alexander Street Press. This collection includes materials on all subject matters and includes a collection of PBS films.
Ambrose Video, this collection includes over 7000 films from a variety academic disciplines.
Digitalia Film Library, includes over 800 films mostly in Spanish and Portuguese with English subtitles.