HNRS 310: University Scholars Seminar (Wood): Home

Provides coverage and integrated searching of the following encyclopedias and multiple reference tools: Encyclopaedia Britannica; Britannica Student Encyclopedia; Britannica Internet Guide; Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary; Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Thesaurus; and World Atlas.

Print edition ceased in 2010.

This resource is being supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries and the State Library of Kansas.

American Consumer Culture: Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965 - Contains thousands of reports commissioned by companies such as Philip Morris, Chrysler, Exxon and CBS on consumer goods ranging from tobacco and broadcasting to cars and hotels. Features the complete market research reports of Ernest Dichter, the era’s foremost consumer analyst and market research pioneer.

American Consumer Culture: Trade Catalogues and the American Home, 1850-1950 - Advertisements reflecting one hundred years of changing commercial tastes and consumer trends, attitudes towards race, the family and domestic sphere, and advancements in technology. Includes trade catalogues, cards and marketing ephemera.

Provides indexing to the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the important events of the 20th century. Coverage includes 1890-1982.

Contains full-text peer reviewed journal articles as well as newspapers, blogs, wire services, and general interest periodicals from across all academic disciplines.

Features thousands of U.S. and global news sources, including wire services, popular magazines, newspapers, and much more.

Indexing and abstracts covering business related, peer reviewed journals, books, case studies, company profiles, industry reports, and country economic reports.

Features nearly 300 full-text periodicals covering topics such as telecommunications, electronics, and the Internet.

Provides access to more than 15,000 full-text news, legal and business sources. Includes journal articles, television and radio broadcasts, newswires, and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers; legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; business information on 80 million U.S. and international companies and 75 million executives. Replaces LexisNexis Academic.

Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of poll data anywhere—from 1935 to present. Contains data from U.S. and international polling firms with broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. International and U.S. datasets available for immediate download.

Dating back to the 1960’s, this collection includes evening news for ABC, CBS, and NBC and an hour per day of CNN since 1995 and Fox News since 2004.

A complete archive of consumer magazines aimed at female readership, including Good Housekeeping, Women’s Day, Ladies’ Home Journal, Town and Country, Parents and more. Covers a multitude of 19th and 20th century aspects of history and culture, including child education and development, fashion, design, health, and psychology.