Falcon History in Japan
鷹書 (Taka Sho) by Call Number: MSC170Publication Date: unknownVol. 1平野図書箋 5859號 / 高野鷹蔵氏寄贈
The cover shown is from volume one. The displayed page is the first page of the first volume and it introduces the origin of falconry practice in Japan; i.e., “Sake no kimi” from Kudara (Baekje) came to Japan in the 46th year under the reign of the Emperor Nintoku. He accompanied the Emperor while hunting and captured pheasants using falcons.
Vol. 2 平野図書箋 5860號 / 高野鷹蔵氏寄贈
The second volume discusses medical treatments for hawks.
Click the image to enlarge
絵本鷹かゞみ (Ehon taka kagami) by Call Number: Ellis Aves C474Publication Date: After 1889, 東京市日本橋区通四町目 (Tokyo-shi Nihonbashi-ku dōri yonchōme)The owner of this publisher is 中村佐太郎 (Nakamura, Satarō) The publication date was not recorded, so the publication place is written as 「東京市 (Tokyo-shi)」. Since Tokyo-shi was established in 1889, this publication was published after 1889. The first three volumes were published in 文久3 (1863) (However, the oldest existing copy was published in 明治12 (1879).) The 2 volume sequel was published in 明治12 (1879) as 「二編」. It can be assumed that the first three volumes, retrospectively named 「初編」was published again with the sequel. KU has: 初編上・中・下 (labeled as vol. 1, 2, 3), 二編 上・下 (labeled as vol. 4, 5) .
The scanned illustration from 初編上 depicts Ariwara no Narihira (825-880), on the horse, doing falconry in a field. Narihiwa, a Japanese courtier and famous waka poet, was also known for his falconry. Title: 「在原業平交野鷹狩之圖 (Ariwara no Narihira no ni majirite taka o karu no zu)」This depicts Narihira, one 鷹匠 (takajō = hawker), 勢子 (seko = beater), 侍者 (jisha = attendant).
Click the images to enlarge
The scanned illustrations from 二編上 feature clothes for falconry.
The scanned illustrations from 二編下 introduces the different pattern (design?) of yabane (feather of an arrow) and names of the body parts of a hawk.
To see other the other holding libraries and digital images, go to the Union Catalogue of Early Japanese Books, The National Institute of Japanese Literature: http://dbrec.nijl.ac.jp/KTG_W_2054742. Also, see the National Diet Library’s digital collection: https://dl.ndl.go.jp/info:ndljp/pid/850049
For the scholarly discussion on Kyōsai and Ehon taka kagami, see: https://catalog.lib.kyushu-u.ac.jp/opac_download_md/2236356/p001.pdf
Falcon History in Japan
白鷹記 (Shirotaka-ki) Records on White Hawks by Call Number: MSC171Publication Date: Original copy from 1377This work is also commonly known as Shirotaka-ki, attributed to Nijō Yoshimoto, a court noble who held the regent position of kampaku three times. This was originally written in Eiwa 3-nen, i.e., 1377, but it is not clear when our manuscript was produced. The text has also been transcribed and included in Gunsho ruijū vol. 19.
Click image to enlarge
Several versions have been uploaded online:
https://kotenseki.nijl.ac.jp/biblio/100371336/viewer/1 (held by 宮内庁書陵部)
https://kotenseki.nijl.ac.jp/biblio/100371337/viewer/1 (held by 宮内庁書陵部)
https://kotenseki.nijl.ac.jp/biblio/100206226/viewer/1 (held by 丹波篠山市教育委員会 青山歴史村)
To see more, search 新日本古典籍総合データベース on https://kotenseki.nijl.ac.jp/
養鷹方書 (Yōyō hōsho) by Call Number: MSC175Publication Date: 1831The manuscript was copied in Tenpo 2 (天保2, 1831) by Nakata Yūzō Seitō (中田雄蔵晟騰?) Part of 平野四郎 collection. The scanned pages are the introductory page which introduces how falconry was introduced to Japan. Another page discusses 「雀鶴 (tsuru)」 a type of female falcon used for hunting sparrows.
Click image to enlarge
There are two entries of this title in the Imperial Household Agency’s Library (copied in 1844 and 1860), but no image is available. Can be access at http://dbrec.nijl.ac.jp/KTG_W_4198452
御鷹場御法度手形之事 (otakaba gohatto tegata no koto) by Call Number: MSP242Publication Date: 1757This document is probably signed and submitted by Nakasone-mura in Bu-shū Adachi-gun (currently Adachi Ward in Tokyo and Kōnosu-shi in Saitama Prefecture) in 1757. 鷹場 (Takaba) is the area where shogun and Tokugawa gosanke (three houses of Tokugawa) used for falconry. The villages designated as takaba beard restrictions (shown on the pages below).
Click the image to enlarge
Poems on Falconry
鷹書物 : 黄 (Taka shomotsu ko) by Call Number: MSC176Publication Date: unknownThis work lists the names of falcons; it is not clear if all of these falcons belong to one owner. However, it includes poems or the names of historically famous hawks, such as 「韓巻」owned by 一条院 and「磐手」owned by 天智天皇.
詠鷹百首和歌 (Eiyō Hyakushu Waka) by Call Number: MSC177Publication Date: 1573 (Probably not the date for this copy)Probably also known as「鷹百首], the text may be similar to the 100 poems on falcons, compiled by Saionji Kintsune (1171-1244), wake poet, designated as a member of the New Thirty-Six Immortals of Poetry. 『群書類従』includes two works titled 「鷹百首」, but the texts do not match.
Click the image to enlarge
木柴之雪 : 定家卿鷹三百五十四首解 Koshiba no yuki : Teika kyō taka 354-shu kai by Call Number: D1412Publication Date: 1819The author Watanabe (1759-1831) is a Kokugaku (Japanese classical literature) scholar and shinkan (Shinto priest), born in Buzen no kuni (currently East part of Fukuoka Prefecture and North part of Oita Prefecture). He studied under Motoori Norinaga (1730-1801) and is regarded as one of the three best kokugaku scholars in Kyushu Region. Watanabe provides interpretation on poems on hawks created by Fujiwara no Sadaie (known as Teika) (1162-1241), compiled as 「鷹三百首」. This book was originally published in Bunka 13 (1816), but judging from the colophon in the last volume indicates, KU’s collection was published in Bunsei 2 (1819). The first five volumes Ku has 「一の巻 」(labeled as vol. 1, containing 38 poems on 春), 「四の巻上」「四の巻下」(labeled as vol. 2 and vol. 3, containing 95 poems on 冬) and 「五の巻」(labeled as vol. 4, containing 64 poems on 小鷹).
Click the image to enlarge
Digital images (original edition) are available in the Union Catalogue of Early Japanese Books, provided by the National Institute of Japanese Literature. To see the bibliographic record, holding libraries of this collection and digital images, go to: http://dbrec.nijl.ac.jp/KTG_W_188998
Also, for the digital images of 「鷹三百首」, go to: https://rmda.kulib.kyoto-u.ac.jp/item/rb00015000
Zegaibō ekotoba: Nijō Tameshige-bon : Kansei Bunka-goro utsushi 是害坊繪詞: 二條為重本 : 寬政文化頃寫
- Zegaibō ekotoba: Nijō Tameshige-bon : Kansei Bunka-goro utsushi 是害坊繪詞: 二條為重本 : 寬政文化頃寫 byCall Number: MS Roll 15Publication Date: approximately 1789-1818
This Japanese paper scroll containing the second part of the Tale of Zegaibō, a well-known story from Japanese folklore, was created in the late mid-Edo period around 1789-1818. The story dates from the Late Heian period (794-1185) or earlier and concerns Zegaibō, the great tengu (a sort of bird-like goblin), who travels to Japan from China in 966 with the aim of halting the spread of Buddhism in Japan. The text is illustrated by lively colored paintings. The first scene shows Nichirabō, the leader of the Japanese tengu, sending Zegaibō to Enryakuji Temple on Mt Hiei, the headquarters of the Japanese Tendai sect. The Tendai warriors defeat Zegaibō in battle. The second scene shows the wounded Zegaibō on a stretcher. The third scene depicts the Japanese tengu treating Zegaibō’s injuries with a hot bath and a medicinal drink, which revive him. In the fourth and final scene, Nichirabō and the Japanese tengu prepare to bid Zegaibō farewell before he flies back to China.
The pictorial works on Zegaibō have several variations, and they are usually called either “Zegaibō emaki (picture scroll)” or “Zegaibō ekotoba (picture and texts).” The only complete scroll surviving today is held in the Manshuin Temple in Kyōto. The end of our scroll says 「冷泉 左中将 藤原為清 (The Reizei Family Left Lieutenant Fujiwara Tamekiyo)」with the date 「寛文五 (1665)」. Therefore, this is a print copy of the work with Fujiwara Tamekiyo’s postscript dated 1665. The original of this scroll is currently held at Izumiya Sen-oku Hakukokan Museum which is famous for the collection of Sumitomo Kichizaemon VII.
The box of our scroll has a note of authentication,「二条為重本 是害坊絵詞 寛政文化頃寫 (Nijō Tameshige version Zegaibō Picture and Text, copied around Kansei-Bunka 1789-1818)」. This authentication was probably done by 森銑三 (Mori, Senzō) . KU’s collection was once owned by Shigeo Sorimachi, an antiquarian bookstore owner and manuscript connoisseur. The online digital collection of this scroll through the Kenneth Spence Research Library can be found here.