Music
Agustín Pío Barrios Mangoré : ritos, culto, sacrilegios y profanaciones by
Call Number: ML410.B2565 O95 2010Publication Date: 2010Agustín Pío Barrios was a Paraguayan classical guitarist and composer. He is considered one of the most important guitarists of South America.
La música en el Paraguay : breve compendio de su historia, acontecimientos y características más importantes by Call Number: ML239.P3 S26 2002Publication Date: 2002Brief compendium of Paraguayan music's history, events and most important characteristics.
Paraguayan music - KU databases
- Music Online: Listening This link opens in a new windowSearch with keyword: Paraguay.
Provides streaming access to audio tracks, across all the key musical genres. Includes Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound, a ten volume print set of encyclopedias, associated audio tracks, musical illustrations, photographs, drawings, song texts, score examples, charts, and maps.
Licensed for all KU students, faculty, and staff connecting to the Internet. - Music Reference Collection This link opens in a new windowBrings together the most comprehensive written collection of materials for the study of music, covering virtually every musical time-period, genre, cultural group, and geographic region. The collection contains a variety of essential music reference materials allowing users to chronicle the history of music of diverse origins and walks of life. Includes access to Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music.
Licensed for all KU students, faculty, and staff connecting to the Internet.
Literature
Augusto Roa Bastos
He is one of the most recognized Paraguayan novelists and short story tellers. He is best known for his work "Yo El Supremo", and in 1989 he was awarded the Premio Miguel de Cervantes, Spanish literature's most prestigious award.
- Yo el Supremo
- I, the Supreme, English translation by Helen Lane
Josefina Plá
She was a poet, journalist, and historian and is considered one of the most influential women in Paraguayan culture of the 20th century.
Amelia "Chiquita" Barreto
She is a writer mostly know for her novels and poetry. She currently works as a professor at the Universidad del Norte.
Ñandutí
This is a traditional Paraguayan embroidered lace. The name comes from Guarani and it means spider-web. They are made for details in clothing, hats, religious ornaments, and all kinds of ornamental items.
Books about ñandutí:
Tereré
Tereré is a beverage invented by the Guarani indigenous peoples. It consists of an infusion of yerba mate, iced cold waters, and sometimes herbs like mint, eucalyptus, lemon verbena, and more are added to the water. Tereré practices have been around since the Precolonial era.
Art Museums in Paraguay
National Museum of Fine Arts of Asuncion
This museum displays over 650 works of art, including paintings, sculptures, ceramics, prints, photographs of Paraguayan and international artists. Located in Asunción.
This museum has a collection of sculptures of sacred art of the Hispanic-Guaraní baroque, located in the city of Asunción.