Recommended Journals
La Corónica: A Journal of Medieval Hispanic Languages, Literatures, and Cultures"Spanish medieval language and literature newsletter."
Online articles available from 09/01/2000 to Present in Project MUSE - Premium Collection. Licensed for all KU students, faculty, and staff connecting to the Internet. Print volumes also available in library for years 1972-2010.- Revista de Literatura Medieval"Contiene estudios, notas y textos de interés sobre literatura de la Edad Media del occidente europeo."
- Journal of Medieval Iberian StudiesUnavailable through KU. Articles can be requested through Interlibrary loan (ILL) or possibly found in Google Scholar.
- Alcanate - Revista de Estudios AlfonsíesUnavailable through KU. Articles can be requested through Interlibrary loan (ILL) or possibly found in Google Scholar.
- Bulletin of Spanish StudiesArticles available online from 01/01/2005 to 12/31/2006 in Taylor & Francis Online -- licensed for all KU students, faculty, and staff connecting to the Internet. Many earlier volumes are also available in print at Watson library. Additional online articles that are unavailable through KU can be requested through Interlibrary loan (ILL) or possibly found in Google Scholar.
- A-Masaq: Journal of the Medieval MediterraneanAl-Masāq: Journal of the Medieval Mediterranean publishes on all aspects of Mediterranean societies and cultures from the fifth to the fifteenth centuries CE.
Unavailable through KU. Articles can be requested through Interlibrary loan (ILL) or possibly found in Google Scholar.
Finding articles using the citation
Locate articles when you have a citation using Get at KU!
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a web search engine.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
Finding Articles
Databases and Indexes
- MLA international bibliography (Ebsco)Provides a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage includes literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America.
- History reference center This link opens in a new windowA full text history reference database featuring content from almost 2,000 reference and non-fiction books.
This resource is being supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries and the State Library of Kansas. - Encyclopaedia of Islam This link opens in a new windowThe Encyclopedia of Islam Online provides access to over 13,000 articles covering nearly all aspects of Islam. Access to this resource includes an index of subjects and proper names.
- Jewish EncyclopediaThe complete contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, which was originally published between 1901-1906. The Jewish Encyclopedia, which recently became part of the public domain, contains over 15,000 articles and illustrations. This online version contains the unedited contents of the original encyclopedia.
- RAMBI: The index of articles on Jewish studiesFrom the Jewish National & University Library in Jerusalem.
Indexes periodicals on all aspects of Jewish history and life. - Index to Jewish periodicalsThis database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Titles include Contemporary Jewry, Holy Land Studies, Jewish Culture & History, Journal of Palestine Studies, Studies in American Jewish Literature, and many more.
- Project MuseProvides online access to current issues of selected scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
- Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender IndexCovers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Because of the explosion of research in Women's Studies during the past two decades, scholars and students interested in women during the Middle Ages find an ever-growing flood of publications.