General Biographical Information
- Britannica online This link opens in a new windowThe most academic of the general encyclopedias, Britannica Online contains biographical information on individuals from all time periods and nationalities.
- WikipediaWikipedia can be a great place to get started--just remember that the information can be questionable. Be sure to consult the bibliography at the bottom.
- Biography.comSearch biographical resources from the Biography Channel.
Biographies of Notable Kansans
- KansapediaThis section of the Kansapedia, a project of the Kansas Historical Society includes information on notable Kansans as well as groups of people.
- Governors of KansasThis site from the Kansas State Library has biographical information as well as important speeches and executive orders.
- Kansas LegislatorsSearch for biographical information of over 9,000 Kansas legislators past and present.
General Biography Databases
- American national biography online This link opens in a new windowAmerican National Biography contains over 17,000 biographies of deceased Americans whose lives have shaped the nation. (Restricted to 5 simultaneous users.)
- Biography and genealogy master index This link opens in a new windowBiography and Genealogy Master Index indexes other biographical resources. It contains citations from over 1,700 titles.
- Encyclopedia of world biographyA multicultural biographical source that covers notable individuals from every part of the world and from all time periods who have made significant contributions to human culture.
- Oxford dictionary of national biography This link opens in a new windowThe Oxford Dictionary of National Biography contains a collection of 55,000 specially written and illustrated biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2003. (Restricted to 3 simultaneous users.)
Subject Guide
Sara Morris
Contact:
Watson Library, Room 350
1425 Jayhawk Blvd.
Lawrence, KS 66045-7544
1425 Jayhawk Blvd.
Lawrence, KS 66045-7544
785-864-8907
Research Help
We can help with your research questions -- contact us by chat, phone, email, text or at a Research Help desk.