Olinguito Example
- "Taxonomic revisions of the olinogs"This article by Helgen et al. is an example of a scholarly article about a new species.
- EOL Olinguito EntryThis link will bring you to the EOL entry overview for the Olinguito.
Course Textbook
- The Information Literacy User's Guide: An Open, Online TextbookThis open access online textbook will introduce you to information literacy within the rich digital information world in which you live. It will help you learn about your role as an information creator through case studies and scenarios, hand-on actives, and interactive quizzes.
Jacobson, T., Boyish, G., Bernnard, D., Bullis, D., Hecker, J., Holden, I., Hosier, A., & Loney, T.
(2014). The information literacy user's guide: An open, online textbook. Retrieved from:
http://textbooks.opensuny.org/the-information-literacy-users-guide-an-open-online-textbook/
Resource Links: Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of LifeThe Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) is a collection of information about organisms on earth.
- National GeographicUsing the search box on the National Geographic homepage to search for your species, or for new species in general, may help you find resources.
- SmithsonianUse the main search bar on the Smithsonian homepage to try searching for your species.
Resource Link: KU Libraries Quick Search
- KU Libraries Quick SearchThis is the Quick Search for KU Libraries. The Quick Search box allows you to search most of the resources KU Libraries owns or subscribes to. This is a good resource for general reference materials on topics and preliminary research to help develop keywords for more focused searching within a subject specific database.
Resource Links: Databases
- Academic search complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is a good for popular and scholarly articles on many different topics and areas of study on a basic level. This database can help familiarize you with your topic area, especially if it is new to you. Academic Search Complete can help you learn the terminology used by researchers who study your topic and help you refine your keywords for searches in more subject specific databases. It contains many full-text of articles, but is not a full-text database.
- Web of science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science is a subject specific database. It has a stronger focus on life science related topics. It is a good resource for scholarly articles on many different science topics. It will contain scholarly articles within the areas of taxonomy and systematics. This will be helpful for understanding the characteristics of different species and how different species are related to each other.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect is a subject specific database. It is focused on topics within science, technology, medicine, and social sciences. Like Web of Science is database is good for finding information in the areas of taxonomy and systematics. ScienceDirect has full-text articles from 1995 to the present.
Resource Links: Search Engines
- Google Scholar (includes Get at KU) This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar is an online (web) search engine that allows you to search scholarly literature within all academic areas of study. It includes scholarly articles, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites. Like Academic Search Complete, Google Scholar can be used to do preliminary research to familiarize yourself with a topic. However, it may also be good to use Google Scholar once you have chosen good keywords because your searches will return such a large number of results during initial searching. Make sure to look for the Get at KU button within your search results to be able to access full-text of articles if you cannot get access by clicking on the link.
- Google book search This link opens in a new windowGoogle Books is an online (web) search engine for searching the full text of many books. However, depending on copyright permissions, you many not be able to view the entire book. Google Books, like KU Libraries Quick Search, is a good resource for finding reference material on all academic areas of study. You can use Goole Books to get a better understanding of your research topic. However, like Google Scholar, it will return a large number of results, so it can be helpful to have well chosen keywords when searching Google Books.
