About Disability Research
If you would like to learn more about disability studies or have an assignment related to the book "Disability Visibility" this page has search strategies, topics, and databases that can help. Faculty looking for assistance in developing or designing coursework can find dedicated teaching resources on the KU Common Book website: https://commonbook.ku.edu/
More Guides for Disability Research
Search Strategies
- Picking Your TopicThis video explains the research process and provides effective strategies for producing a robust research topic.
- Search TipsThese short videos show how to use search terms effectively.
- Read It, Save It, Cite ItThese videos show you how to access and save articles.
Search the Catalog
Research Themes from Disability Visibility
Throughout Wong's anthology, the authors write about their lived experiences and the places where disability intersects with everyday life. Consider this list of themes from the text as you begin your research.
Graphic image of a list of themes from the book with black text displayed over a turquoise background.
Databases for Disability Research
- Archives of Sexuality and Gender (Parts I and IV) This link opens in a new windowContains primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world.
- Art full text This link opens in a new windowIndexing and abstracting subjects of art, architecture, urban planning, and design, including art reproductions.
- Avery index to architectural periodicals This link opens in a new windowJournal articles on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation.
- Design and applied arts index This link opens in a new windowDesign and craft journals and newspapers featuring designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms, and more.
- Disability in the Modern World: History of a Social MovementAccess to primary sources, videos, and scholarly research relate to disability studies from around the globe covering the history of the social movements surrounding disability.
- Encyclopedia of American studies This link opens in a new windowProvides an integrated approach to the history and culture of the United States by focusing on problems, themes, and issues that cut across disciplines.
- Independent Voices This link opens in a new windowChronicles the transformative decades of the 60s, 70s and 80s through the lens of independent alternative presses.
- Legal collection This link opens in a new windowContains full text for more than 300 of the world's scholarly law journals.
This resource is being supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries and the State Library of Kansas. - LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new windowHistorically significant LGBTQ+ journals, magazines and regional newspapers, plus full text monographs/books. Includes access to LBGT Life.
- Linguistics & language behavior abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new windowArticles in the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Also the study of descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
- Policy File Index This link opens in a new windowPublic policy research and analysis from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers.
- SPORTDiscus with full text This link opens in a new windowFull-text and citation information on interdisciplinary sports-related topics, including a microform collection, mostly from the University of Oregon.
