Hours
THOMAS R SMITH MAP LIBRARY
(864-4420)
Level 1, Anschutz Library
GIS & Data Lab
(864-1238) data@ku.edu
Room 105 Anschutz
Mon-Thu 9am – 8pm
Fri 9am – 5pm
Sat-Sun 1pm – 5pm
SPENCER RESEARCH LIBRARY
(864-4334)
Mon-Fri 9am – 5 pm
Sat noon – 4pm
Sun Closed
Online Databases
- Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new windowContinuing through to the modern era, and told against the backdrop of the 19th century expansion into the Western Frontier right through to the civil rights movement of the mid-twentieth century, American Indian Histories and Cultures highlights both the myths and realities of the Wild West and American Indian cultural identity.
- American state papers, 1789-1838 This link opens in a new windowSearch or browse U.S. congressional materials originating from 1789 and covering through 1838, including 1st Congress, 1st Session through 25th Congress, 2nd Session.
- American West This link opens in a new windowAmerican West provides electronic access to the Everett D Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library, Chicago. This digital collection contains over 300 manuscripts, broadsides, maps, and rare printed works. Material in the collection ranges from 1722 to 1939, with the majority covering 1830 to 1839.
- eHRAF world cultures This link opens in a new windowA cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life.
- Google Scholar (includes Get at KU) This link opens in a new windowSearch specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, patents, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- Google Book SearchGoogle Book Search contains a wide variety of different types of books. Although much of the material is older, there is a growing amount of current information. Google Books is a great place to do keyword searching on topics within monographs.
- Early encounters in North America : peoples, cultures, and the environment This link opens in a new windowThe Early Encounters database documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. It makes available a collection of published and unpublished accounts, including narratives, diaries, journals, and letters that document the first impressions of North America by Europeans and of Europeans by native people. The collection includes primary materials, images, environmental studies and maps that researchers and students would otherwise struggle to obtain. Indexing makes it possible to compare original descriptions of an area with the observations by individuals who followed.
- The Territorial papers of the United StatesVol. 1. General --
v. 2-3. The territory northwest of the River Ohio, 1787-1803 --
v. 4. The territory south of the River Ohio, 1790-1796 --
v. 5. The territory of Mississippi, 1798-1817 --
v. 6. The territory of Mississippi, 1809-1817 (continued) --
v. 7. The territory of Indiana, 1800-1810 --
v. 8. The territory of Indiana, 1810-1816 (continued) --
v. 9. The territory of Orleans, 1803-1812 --
v. 10. The territory of Michigan, 1805-1820 --
v. 11. The territory of Michigan, 1820-1829 (continued) --
v. 12. The territory of Michigan, 1829-1837 (continued) --
v. 13. The territory of Louisiana-Missouri, 1803-1806 --
v. 14. The territory of Louisiana-Missouri, 1806-1814 (continued) --
v. 15. The territory of Louisiana-Missouri, 1815-1821 (continued) --
v. 16. The territory of Illinois, 1809-1814 --
v. 17. The territory of Illinois, 1814-1818 (continued) --
v. 18. The territory of Alabama, 1817-1819 --
v. 19. The territory o
Online Maps and Atlases
- US TOPOProvides access to current and historical topographical quadrangle maps.
- Serial set maps This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the more than 50,000 maps published within the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980. The maps illuminate a wide variety of topics in U.S. and World history. Subjects include:
American History
Government Information
United States History
- The David Rumsey Historical Map CollectionThe David Rumsey Historical Map Collection has over 20,000 maps online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North and South America maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia and Africa are also represented. Collection categories include antique atlas, globe, school geography, maritime chart, state, county, city, pocket, wall, childrens and manuscript maps.
- Geography and Map Division of the Library of Congress"The focus of Map Collections is Americana and Cartographic Treasures of the Library of Congress. These images were created from maps and atlases and, in general, are restricted to items that are not covered by copyright protection."
