Boolean operators allow you create searches that combine keywords and search terms for more relevant search results.
AND - narrows the search by searching for both terms
Ex. life cycle assessment AND tomato, returns results that contain life cycle assessmentandtomato
OR - broadens the search by searching for either terms
Ex. life cycle assessment OR tomato, returns results that contain either the life cycle assessment or tomato
NOT - narrows the search by excluding a term
Ex. life cycle assessment NOT tomato, returns results that contain life cycle assessment, but not tomato
Here are some general searching tips
Use quotation marks "" to search a phrase
Ex. "life cycle assessment"
Use the wildcard symbol (usually an asterisk *) to search for alternate endings of words
Ex. grow* will also search for growing and grows
Use parenthesis () to nest search terms and keywords
Ex. ("life cycle assessment" OR LCA) AND tomato*
You can combine Boolean searching with other searching tips
Complex searches can be as ineffective as searches that are too simple
Please note that you are not confined to using only the databases listed on this guide. Please feel free to explore the other databases KU Libraries subscribe to by either finding them in our Database A-Z list or Databases by Subject list.
Indexes and abstracts citations in research journals across the disciplinary spectrum. Online version of: Arts and humanities citation index (1975-present); Science citation index (1900-present); and Social sciences citation index (1956-present).
Provides indexing and abstracts to the journal literature in the area of environmental policy and studies. The database covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, geography, marine & freshwater resources, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Formerly called: Environmental issues & policy index.
Provides citation access to books and over 2,000 journals published by Elsevier in the following disciplines: science, technology, medicine, and social sciences. Full-text content is available to most of the journal titles 1995 to the present.
Includes citations to material acquired by the National Agricultural Library and cooperating institutions and is the most comprehensive source of bibliographic information covering U.S. agricultural and life sciences.
A web search engine that provides a way to search the scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions. Sources include academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites.
Provides online access to over 3.8 million dissertations and master's theses with 1.7 million available in full text for immediate downloading. Citations are available for dissertations dating from 1861 and full text online from 1997 for over 1,000 schools submitting to the ProQuest UMI database.
Provides image and full-text online access of core academic journals in a variety of disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. The following collections are accessible: Arts and Sciences Collections I-XIV; Business IV; Life Sciences Collection; Public Health Reports, Global Plants, and JSTOR Arts & Sciences XV.
Provides abstracts of articles on business and management from U.S. and international professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines, and regional business publications. This also includes access to ABI/INFORM Dateline, Global, Trade & Industry, and Archive.