Central Asia: Scope

Guide to KU Library resources for Central Asian, including Iran, Afghanistan, and the former Soviet Central Asian Republics (Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Azerbaijan)

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian

We can help with your research questions -- contact us by chat, phone, email, text or at a Research Help desk.


The term Central Asia in one definition refers to the Central Asian republics of the former Soviet Union, i.e.  Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Turkmenistan, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan. Other definitions might expand the area to Azerbaijan, Iran, Afghanistan, Mongolia, western Pakistan (i.e. Baluchistan), and Xinjiang Province of China (Uighur regions).

The peoples of Central Asia speak predominatety Turkic (Turkish, Turkmen, Uzbek, Kazakh, Kyrgyz, Azeri, etc) and Iranian (Persian, Tajik, Pushtu, Baluchi, Tat, etc.) languages.

While KU Libraries collect information on the broader definition above, historically and currently our collections have been strongest in the areas corresponding to the Central Asian countries of the former Soviet Union.

The KU Libraries collects predominately in the subject areas of: Language, Culture, Politics, Religion, Literature, and Energy issues.


Geoff Husic

Profile Photo
Geoff Husic
Slavic, Linguistics, and Near East Studies Librarian

Room 519 Watson Library
University of Kansas
1425 Jayhawk Blvd
Lawrence, KS 66045-7544
Voice 785-864-3957
FAX 785-864-3850