A guide for conducting basic and advanced library research in geography. Suggestions of selected information resources in geography such as databases, websites, and books.
Last Updated: Jun 7, 2013
Use article indexes and bibliographies to find scholarly articles on your topic. The University of Kansas Libraries owns, subscribes, or has a license to use many bibliographic databases. Many of these databases include full‐text of journals.
- Web of Science
Indexes and abstracts citations in research journals across the disciplinary spectrum. Online version of: Arts and humanities citation index (1975-present); Science citation index (1900-present); and Social sciences citation index (1956-present).
JSTOR provides access to a number of core history journals including the Journal of American History, American Historical Review, and the Journal of Southern History. in the basic search box rt:"title of reviewed title". Example "rt: American Slavery, American Freedom"
- GEOBIB--Online Geographical Bibliography
Online Geographical Bibliography (GEOBIB) is a database containing the accumulated entries published in the journal Current Geographical Publications. This database continues the Research Catalogue of the American Geographical Society.
If you do not see a PDF version of the article you need, click on the "Get at KU" button. This will provide a list of where the full text is available. You may also click on a link to do a search in the KU catalog to determine if KU has the print. And if you it is not available at KU use the link to order it through Interlibrary Loan.