Proposed Legislation
Bill - The primary form of legislative measure used to propose law. Depending on the chamber of origin, bills begin with a designation of either H.R. or S.
Simple Resolution - A form of legislative measure introduced and potentially acted upon by only one congressional chamber and used for the regulation of business only within the chamber of origin. Depending on the chamber of origin, they begin with a designation of either H.Res. or S.Res.
Joint Resolution - A form of legislative measure used to propose changes in law, or to propose an amendment to the U.S. Constitution. Depending on the chamber of origin, they begin with a designation of either H.J.Res. or S.J.Res.
Concurrent Resolution - A form of legislative measure used for the regulation of business within both chambers of Congress, not for proposing changes in law. Depending on the chamber of origin, they begin with a designation of either H.Con.Res. or S.Con.Res.
Proposed Legislation and Versions of Bills
- Legislation - ProQuest Legislative InsightProvides full text of bills that passed into law as well as various versions of the proposed legislation and related bills. Covers Public Law from 1929 to present.
- Legislation - Congress.govProvides full text of proposed and enacted bills along with summaries, and legislative histories (actions, amendments, and related bills) and information about sponsors. Covers 1973-present.
- Congressional Record - Congress.govThe process of introducing a bill is documented in the Congressional Record. The information includes a summary description, bill number, sponsers and to which committee the bill has been refer for consideration. Full text available 1995-present.
- Congressional Record - Thomas.govThe process of introducing a bill is documented in the Congressional Record. The information includes a summary description, bill number, sponsers and to which committee the bill has been refer for consideration. Full text access from 1989-present.
- Congressional BillsThere are numerous different bill versions that track a bill through the legislative process from introduction through passage by both chambers (enrolled version). All final published bill versions are available from GPO in PDF format, 1993-current.
Draft Legislation by a Committee or Member of Congress
If you wish to study legislation in draft form before being introduced and assigned a bill number you will need to access archival collections.
- Center for Legislative Archives at theNational Archives"The Center for Legislative Archives holds the historically valuable records of The U.S. Senate, and The U.S. House of Representatives, including the official Committee records, all of which remain the legal property of the House and Senate."
- Robert J. Dole Archive and Special Collections"The Dole Archives is one of the largest Congressional archives in the United States, with materials on a wide range of topics important to 20th century American social and political history. Explore manuscripts, photographs, film, objects and other unique materials from Senator Dole’s life as well as his family, former staff, and associates."
Draft and Model Legislation from Organizaitons
Before legislation can be proposed and assiged a "bill" number, someone has to draft a bill. Many people and organization in and outside the government try to influence the legislative process by drafting bills. These include: Congressional; State Legislature; Executive Branch; advocacy groups and other organization; and individual people.
Here you will find some prominate organizaitons which actively draft legislation to influence the process, but keep in mind that any organizaiton can be promoting draft legislation:
- ALEC - American Legislative Exchange CouncilALEC defines itself as an organization that "works to advance limited government, free markets, and federalism" and "provides a unique opportunity for state legislators, business leaders and citizen organizations from around the country to develop model policies based on academic research, existing state policy and proven business practices."
- Progressive States NetworkPSN (formerly know as Progressive Legislative Action Network (PLAN)) defines itself as an organization that "engages and builds the capacity of state and national leaders to advance public policy solutions that uphold America’s promise to be a just and equitable democracy."
