Selected Websites
- American Presidency ProjectLarge collection of materials related to the study of the American Presidency. Including complete Public Papers of the Presidents from Herbert Hoover (1929) through first year of George W. Bush's first term (2001). Also includes large archive of sound and video clips of American presidents.
- Background Notes (U.S. Department of State)The publications indexed include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty. The Background Notes are updated/revised by the Office of Electronic Information and Publications of the Bureau of Public Affairs as they are received from the Department's regional bureaus and are added to the database of the Department of State website you are now using.
- CIA World FactbookThe CIA World Factbook provides general information about specific countries in the world, including sections on geography, demographics, economics, communications, transportation, military and transnational issues.
- Congressional (U.S.) DirectoryContains biographies of members of Congress and the Vice President (as President of the Senate).
- Constitution FinderThis database provides constitutions, charters, amendments, and other related documents. Nations of the world are linked to their constitutional text posted somewhere on the Internet. Search by country name.
- Country Studies/Area HandbookThe Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of 101 countries throughout the world. Library of Congress links to electronic resources from around the world. This Web site contains the online versions of books previously published (1988-98) in hard copy by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress.
- Economic CensusStatistical data on the U.S. economy from the national to the local level, organized primarily by business or industrial unit.
- Economic report of the PresidentThe Economic Report of the President is an annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisors. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.
- Economic Research - Federal Reserve Bank of St. LouisEconomic Research and Education resources created by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. Economic time-series statistics, full-text economic publications, GIS applications, educational materials.
- Education Statistics, National Center for (NCES) - Publications & Products SearchEducation Statistics brings together data from several National Center for Education Statistics sources including: The Condition of Education, The Digest of Education Statistics, and Projections of Education Statistics.
- FDsys.gov (Archival)An early government website, GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys) provided access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Some links may still have FDsys in their web address, but the site is now superseded.
- Federal Citizen Information CenterConsumer information from the GSA a trusted, one-stop source for answers to questions about Federal agencies, programs and services. FCIC maintains close ties with more than 100 different federal offices, agencies and departments, as well as many consumer and trade organizations. It includes information about frauds, scams, and product recalls.
- FedStatsFedStats provides access to official statistics collected and published by more than 100 Federal agencies without having to know in advance which agency produces them. It uses the Internet's powerful linking and searching capabilities to track economic and population trends, education, health care costs, aviation safety, foreign trade, energy use, farm production, and more.
- Foreign Government Resources on the WebSearch by region, country, or topic. Includes foreign government and international web sites and related information, including news and statistics.
- Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) 1861-1960A digitized version of the U.S. Department of State publication 'Foreign Relations of the United States' which is an official record of major U.S. Foreign Policy decisions as have been declassified and edited for publication.
- GAO Reports and Testimonies ArchiveArchive of GAO investigative reports and testimony abstracts, summaries, full-text going back to pre-1970's. The Government Accountability Office (GAO) is an agency that works for Congress and the American people. Congress asks GAO to study the programs and expenditures of the federal government. GAO, commonly called the investigative arm of Congress or the congressional watchdog, is independent and nonpartisan. It studies how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars.
- GODORTHomepage for the Government Documents Roundtable of the American Library Association (GODORT). GODORT provides a forum for discussion of problems and concerns, and for the exchange of ideas by librarians working with government documents. It also provides a force for initiating and supporting programs to increase availability, use and bibliographic control of documents.
- GPO Access -- Archive OnlyGPO Access was a service of the U.S. Government Printing Office. Sources found here originally should now be available from Govinfo.gov or from an agency website.
- Historical census browserThe data presented describes the population and economy of states and counties from 1790 to 1960, including state and county topics for individual census years. From this site it is possible to produce tables of data by state or county; sort data by selected categories; create ratios between any two data categories; and generate maps of selected data.
- Infonation (advanced)Official and up-to-date information and statistics regarding the countries of the world.
- Intergovernmental Organizations Search EngineCustom search engine available through Indiana University. Search over 390 IGO websites, including the United Nations and European Union.
- International Government Documents Finding GuideElectronic resources for information on world governments and country profiles. Contains some hard-copy resources.
- IRS: Forms and PublicationsThe official source of IRS tax products provides links to access and acquire both electronic and print tax forms and related documents. The Search function provides basic and advanced search capabilities for published products available on IRS.gov.
- Legal Information Institute (Cornell University Law School)The Legal Information Institute (LII) is a research and electronic publishing activity of the Cornell Law School.
- MIPT Lawson LibraryCollection of resources for global terrorism research. Find information from the FBI, Al Qaeda, and the US State Department. Gain access to the Gale/Cengage Learning- War & Terrorism Collection (free - registration required). Congressional Research Reports related to terrorism are also available.
- National Archives and Records Administtration (NARA)The National Archives and Records Administration(NARA) is an independent U.S. Federal agency that preserves the nation's history by overseeing the management of all Federal records. This website provides extensive information on NARA, how to research their resources, and provides a linkk to "the digital classroom," where primary sources and educational programming tied to educational standards for teaching US history can be found.
- National Institutes of HealthNIH is the nation's medical research agency – making important medical discoveries that improve health and save lives. It is the primary Federal agency for conducting and supporting medical research. This site brings together and makes accessible the work of its 27 Institutes and Centers.
- Open CRSOpen CRS is a project of the Center for Democracy and Technology to provide a portal to several collections of CRS reports. CRS reports are provided by the United States Library of Congress' Congressional Research Service to the United States Congress and are research briefings on a variety of issues related to legislation, policy, and regulation activities of the United States Federal Government
- RePEc (Research Papers in Economics)RePEc is a clearinghouse site that provides a centralized access point to research in Economics and related fields. Through RePEc, access can be made to working papers, citations to published literature in journals and monographs, software components for statistical analysis, and contact information for individual researchers and research institutions (colleges and university economics departments, research institutes, governmental organizations.)
- Robert's Rules of orderCreator Robert, Henry M. (Henry Martyn), 1837-1923
Description Manual of parliamentary procedure. - State & county quickfactsContains quick, easy access to facts about people, business, and geography. Includes data for cities and towns with more than 25,000 people.
- State Data Center ProgramDirectory of census State Data Centers (SDCs). Includes links to SDC annual reports, calendars of events, meeting notes, redistricting information, and demographic profile information.
- State of the cities data systems (SOCDS)The SOCDS provides data for individual metropolitan areas, central cities, and suburbs. This data includes demographic and economic characteristics of the population from the U.S. census, 1970-2000, current employment statistics for city residents, data on violent and property crime rates collected by the FBI, and information on local building permits.
- U.S. Bureau of Justice StatisticsContains information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. Includes full text of selected BJS documents. Also offers links to sites with related information.
- U.S. Census BureauHome page of the U.S. Census Bureau. This site provides state population profiles based on the latest census figures, census maps, and information about the Census Bureau.
- U.S. Government ManualContains information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial and executive branches; quasi-official agencies; boards, commissions and committees; and international organizations.
- Uniform crime reportsProvides criminal justice statistics for law enforcement administration, operation, and management, and to indicate fluctuations in the level of crime in America. Includes special studies, reports, and monographs prepared using data mined from the Uiform Crime Reports (UCR) large database. In addition to these reports, information about the National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS) and UCR Frequently Asked Questions are also available on this site.
- USA.govUSA.gov is the official web portal to U.S. government information and services from U.S. local, state, tribal, and federal government agency websites.
- Voting and registrationContains detailed information from recent surveys and historical trends in selected areas. Estimates and projections of voting-age population derived from administrative records and Census 2000 are also provided.
- World factbookPublished by the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), this website includes country-based information on flags, maps, geography, people, government, the economy, transportation, communication, and defense. Areas covered include Europe, Asia, Australia, North and South America, Antarctica, and Africa. Also includes a world summary.
- Foreign Relations of the United StatesThe Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.
