Libraries

*East Asian Studies: K-12 East Asian Studies

A few starting points for East Asian studies, and links to China, Japan, and Korea studies.

K-12 Resource TOC

SJH writing

KU Resources

Kansas Standards

  • Kansas State Department of Education
    The Kansas Department of Education's Assessments and Standards page offers standards documents for language arts, math, music, science, and social studies - along with assessments information and results of the 1999 state; tests in math and reading. Each curriculum link leads to a dedicated page containing a copy of the current standards
    document (in Adobe Acrobat form) and a slight amount of supplementary material. Publication dates on the standards documents (as of February 2000) were June 1998 for reading and writing, March 1999 for math, August 1998 for music, December 1999 for science, and July 1999 (5th draft) for social studies.

National Standards

Electronic Discussion Groups

  • Newsgroup : soc.culture http://www.cs.uu.nl/wais/html/na-bng/soc.culture.html
  • MULTC-ED (Multicultural education)
    Educators involved in any aspect of multi cultural issues or programs. To subscriber to MULTC-ED send mail to: listserv at umdd.umd.edu. 500+ subscribers.

Introduction

Welcome to the K-12 East Asian Studies Page

This page offers a wide range of links and resources to help K-12 educators plan units of instruction about East Asia. Drawing from resources both at the University of Kansas and other research institutions around the country, this site allows teachers to find accurate information and resources for use in their classrooms. Furthermore, links provided here also can help teachers connect with organizations, language teaching associations and teachers who have experience teaching East Asian culture and language to K-12 students and/or those who are involved with educational exchange. Deepen your own knowledge while opening your students minds to the dynamic world of East Asian Language and Culture.

  

National Resources

  • Columbia University
    Asia for Educators Online
    Site features classroom materials and teaching guides on Asia for use by faculty and students in world history, culture, geography, art, and literature at the undergraduate and pre-college levels. Search for content by subject area, document type, or time period. AFE Online also features several multimedia and image-based units on various Asia-related topics, as well as maps, timelines, primary source readings, and a searchable database of recommended teaching materials from other publishers. AFE Online is an initiative of the East Asian Curriculum Project and the Project on Asia in the Core Curriculum at Columbia University.

  • Brown University
    Choices for the 21st Century Education Project
    A Program of the Thomas J. Watson Jr. Institute for International Studies at Brown University
    The site offers curricular resources on public policy issues and professional development programs for high school social studies teachers.

  • Indiana University
    • Teaching East Asian Literature in the High School
      The East Asian Studies Center at Indiana University and the National Council of Teachers of English are holding an intensive summer workshop for 11th- and 12th grade high school English teachers interested in incorporating Chinese and Japanese literature into their curriculum. Participants will develop a set of lesson plans and curricular materials for each of the works covered in the workshop, which will then be published in a teaching guide.
    • Education Resources on the Internet
  • University of California at Los Angeles
    Asia in the K-12 Curriculum
    The UCLA Center for East Asian Studies is working with other UCLA units and several Los Angeles County school districts to develop a web-based distance learning and professional development program to train secondary school teachers in a) the state-mandated integration of Asia-related topics into the social studies and language arts curriculum and b) the use of internet technologies to further engage students in the acquisition and processing of information and in communicating the results of their research.
  • University of Colorado at Boulder
    The Teaching East Asia program at the Center for Asian Studies conducts national, regional, and state projects designed to enhance and expand teaching and learning about East Asia at the elementary and secondary school levels. Specific projects focus on curriculum development, professional development for teachers, and curriculum consultation and reform related to Asia in K-12 education.
  • University of Illinois
    • AEMS K-12 Teaching Resources
      Internet resources for Asia, China, Japan and Korea
    • Asian Educational Media Service center for East Asian and Pacific Studies (AEMS) is a program of the Center for East Asian and Pacific Studies at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Our mission is to promote understanding of Asian cultures and peoples and to assist teachers at all levels, from elementary schools to colleges and universities, and other individuals and groups, in learning and teaching about Asia
  • University of Michigan
    Japan Resources and Links
    K-12 Resources contains information relevant to teachers who wish to include Japanese content in their curriculum. Contained in this section is information on the Center's JapanKit, the Teachers' Institute in Asian Studies Conference, the Japanese School of Detroit, and various other links to K-12 related web sites with information on Japan.

  • University of Southern California
    School partners network
    The School Partners Network is a community of middle and high schools collaborating with the East Asian Studies Center as a university partner and with each other as network partners to explore and develop communications technology.

  • University of Texas at Austin
    Outreach Asia -- a program of the Center for Asian Studies
    provides support services to educators and community members to foster a better understanding of Asia.

Recommended Resources

  • CIA Factbook-East Asia  
    • The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
  • Asia Society
    • Asia Society Education Initiatives
      AsiaSociety.org offers a wide range of services including roundtable discussions, annotated links to hundreds of resources on Asia, and Special Reports on pressing topics of the day.
    Established 1956, it is America's premier Asian cultural and educational institution. A national nonprofit, nonpartisan educational organization, the Society provides a forum for building awareness of the more than thirty countries broadly defined as the Asia-Pacific region - the area from Japan to Iran, and from Central Asia to New Zealand, Australia and the Pacific Islands.

  • Asia for Kids
    A commercial dealer, Asia for Kids offers resources for the home, classroom or library. Its mission is to make the Asian heritage and its diverse languages accessible to everyone interested in learning about Asia. Its collection includes books, language textbooks, videos, audio cassettes, software, CD-ROMs, dolls, games, posters, crafts, T-shirts and resource materials for parents and teachers.

  • Awesome Library
    Awesome Library organizes the Web with 14,000 carefully reviewed resources, including the top 5 percent in education. Language section includes Chinese, Japanese and Korean resources for teachers , for kids and for teens.

  • Education About Asia -- Association for Asian Studies (AAS)
    Quarterly publication by the AAS. It is designed to be a tool for K-16 teachers who wish to bring information on Asia to their classrooms. The online site does not cover the actual publication, but has Resource Links and Asia Factoids which are useful to educators.

  • Internet Resources for Chinese / Chinese Links
    Many different formats for Chinese text on the Internet (e.g. GB, Big5, Hanzi) are listed. Language-learning software to download is available.

  • Kids web Japan -- Japan information network
    Kids Web Japan is a site that introduces Japan to school children aged between 10 and 14 who live in other countries. There are many photographs and graphics about Japan. 
  • Online Museum of Resources for Asian Art
    The Online Museum of Resources for Asian Art identifies online visual resources -- including collections databases, digital image libraries, archived websites of special exhibitions---around the world primarily for the arts of China, Korea, and Japan, and also has links to resources for Vietnam, India, Tibet and Asia in general
  • The Korea Society is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan, 501(c)(3) organization with individual and corporate members that is dedicated solely to the promotion of greater awareness, understanding and cooperation between the people of the United States and Korea. Their website has over 300 lesson plans available in a variety of categories. (Click on "By Subject Area" to see lesson categories.)

East Asia School Connections

  • iEARN I-EARN is a non-profit global network that enables teachers and youth to use the Internet and other technologies to collaborate on projects that enhance learning and make a difference in the world.
  • Global Nomads Global Nomads Group (GNG) is an international NGO that creates interactive educational programs for students about global issues. GNG’s educational programs include several types of videoconferences where students learn about and discuss subjects with their peers from around the world in live, facilitated sessions; and videos and learning content on a variety of international issues relevant to teachers and students.
  • Global Schools Net   Global SchoolNet’s Projects Registry is an online clearinghouse for teacher-conducted global learning projects and a central place for educators to find global partners and announce projects.  The Projects Registry contains more than 3,000 annotated listings – and is searchable by date, age level, geographic location, collaboration type, technology tools or keyword.
  • ePals ePals is a provider of collaborative technology for schools to connect and learn in a protected, project-based learning network.
  • Connect All Schools Connect All Schools is an interactive community that aims to connect K-12 schools in the US with at least schools worldwide through virtual (and other) exchanges.
  • Sister Schools Sister Schools links youth in collaborative projects through a classroom, school, or after-school activity. Students can engage in letter, video, or webcast exchange; leadership-building projects; fundraising campaigns; or tailored projects fitting interests.

Language Teachers Associations and Organizations

  • Chinese Language Teachers Association, Inc. (CLTA)

    The Chinese Language Teachers Association represents instructors of Chinese language, literature, linguistics and culture at all educational levels throughout the world. The Association is committed to improve the professional status of Chinese language teachers and to promote the teaching of Chinese in colleges and high schools. It sponsors conferences, seminars and workshops for members to exchange ideas on a great variety of topics related to Chinese studies. It publishes The Journal of the Chinese Language Teachers Association (JCLTA) and other occasional publications to reinforce better communication, to enhance better understanding on Chinese culture and to facilitate effective teaching and learning of Chinese language and culture. For contents of JCLTA (1966-), see the JCLTA Index, for online access to recent reviews of computer-assisted language learning (CALL) software, see Online Reviews: CALL Software for Chinese.

  • Chinese Language Association of Secondary-Elementary Schools (CLASS)
    The CLASS is to serve as a national nonpolitical and nonprofit professional Association of all persons interested in teaching Chinese. Questions about CLASS in general can be sent to llee@ets.org .

  • Association of Teachers of Japanese (ATJ)
    A U.S.-based association for teachers of Japanese. The ATJ is an international, non-profit, non-political organization of scholars, teachers, and students of Japanese language, literature, and linguistics, which works to promote academic work in the field and to broaden and deepen knowledge and appreciation of Japan and its culture. It holds an annual meeting in conjunction with the Association for Asian Studies and also cooperates with its sister organization, the National Council of Secondary Teachers of Japanese, in presenting panels at the annual meeting of the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages. It publishes the Journal of the Association of Teachers of Japanese twice each year and the ATJ Newsletter four times annually.
  • The American Association of Teachers of Korean (AATK)
    The American Association of Teachers of Korean (AATK) was founded in 1994 for all levels of teachers of the Korean language, culture, and literature in the United States of America. Its mission is to enhance and promote an interest in the teaching and learning of the Korean language, culture and literature; to carry out research in second language acquisition, applied linguistics, language pedagogy, as well as in the teaching of culture and literature, and to provide a forum for presenting research findings. It publishes a journal and newsletter annually.

  • National Council of Associations of Chinese Language Schools
    2765 Evergreen Street
    Yorktown Heights
    NY 10598
    Tel & Fax: 914-962-503