East Asian Studies: Travel Grants

A few starting points for East Asian studies, and links to China, Japan, and Korea studies.

Travel Grant

University of Kansas East Asian Library 2017-2018 Travel Grants

The Center for East Asian Studies at the University of Kansas, a federally designated National Resource Center, offers travel grants to scholars from outside the Lawrence, Kansas area who wish to use the University's East Asian Library collection during 2017/2018 academic years.  Travel grants of up to $350 each will be awarded to cover travel and lodging expenses. Applicants at institutions where there are few or no East Asian language library resources will be given priority consideration.  The 2017-2018 awards must be used before August 1, 2018.  Applications will be reviewed by the travel grant committee and grants will be awarded to faculty members and graduate students engaged in dissertation research. The grants will  be awarded on the basis of merit.

The East Asian collection has over 330,000 volumes in Chinese, Japanese, and Korean, substantial periodical holdings, and electronic resources. The collection is especially strong in the fields of Chinese and Japanese art history, history, literature, religion, and Japanese women's studies. For further information about the collection, please visit https://lib.ku.edu/east-asian-collection/about or contact Vickie Doll, Head of the East Asian Collection, at vdoll@ku.edu.

Applications are accepted at any time during the year.  Grant applications include a one page description of the research topic, the type/subject of materials (or in a list of databases and book titles) you are seeking, an estimated budget, and a current curriculum vitae.  Send the application materials to Travel Grants Committee c/o vdoll@ku.edu. 

Travel Grants Committee
Center for East Asian Studies
Bailey Hall Room 201
1440 Jayhawk Blvd
University of Kansas
Lawrence, KS 66045
Phone: (785) 864-3849
Fax: (785) 864-5034
Email: ceas[at sign]ku.edu (attn: Travel Grant)
http://www.ceas.ku.edu/

Vickie Fu Doll
Chinese and Korean Studies Librarian
East Asian Library
University of Kansas
Lawrence, KS 66045
Fax: (785) 864-3850
Email: vdoll[at sign]ku.edu
http://lib.ku.edu/east-asian-library

Accomodation Information Guide in Lawrence

Access to EAL Collections

East Asian Library is at the top floor (5th floor) of the Watson Library on KU main Lawrence campus


View East Asian Library in University of Kansas in a larger map

Maps & Directions to the Center for East Asian Studies at KU

Getting here is easy - Lawrence is located on I-70 just 45 minutes' drive from the Kansas City International Airport (I-435 South to I-70 West; also see Airport shuttles). I-70 exit 202 is the most direct route to the KU Campus.


View Maps & Directions to the Center for East Asian Studies at KU in a larger map

Directions to Lawrence from the Kansas City Airport

As you exit the airport, follow the signs to Topeka, which will direct you to:

  1. Turn left onto the 29 N / 435W ramp to St Joseph/Topeka. Continue for 3.5 miles.
  2. Take exit 17 to 435 S toward Topeka for 19 miles.
  3. Take exit 12 to 70W / Kansas Turnpike toward Topeka for 25 miles.
  4. Take exit 202 “West Lawrence” and pay the toll (about $1.60)
  5. After the toll booth, you’ll be driving south on McDonald Drive. Stay in the left lane to merge onto Iowa Street.
  6. In about 1 mile, turn left onto 15th St / Bob Billings Pkwy. Take your first right turn to get to the KU Visitor Center.

Tips for getting around in Lawrence

  • Numbered streets run east-west with 6th Street in the north and 31st Street in the south.
  • State streets run north-south roughly in the order they joined the union (east first).
  • West of Iowa St., 15th Street is Bob Billings Parkway, and 23rd Street is Clinton Parkway

(For details, please see KU Visitors Center and ISSS)