This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Architecture Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Architecture Resources   Tags: architecture, codes, images, materials  

Basic sources for researching an architecture topic including finding books and journal articles, images, web directories, DVDs, and more.
Last Updated: May 6, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.ku.edu/architecture Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

KU Library Catalog

KU Catalog Search collections available in all library locations at the Univ. of Kansas.

 

Other Library Catalogs

WorldCat, Includes millions of records describing items owned by OCLC member libraries, including the KU Libraries.

Catalog for the Hatch Reading Room, Located on the top floor of Marvin Hall, this is a non-circulating collection of over 4,000 books, 30 ongoing magazine subscriptions, and a small collection of maps.

Catalog for the Kansas State University Library, KSU's Paul Weigel Library of Architecture, Planning & Design, located in Manhattan, is a nearby architectural library. 

Lawrence Public Library in Lawrence, KS Located at 7th & Vermont, this public library has a good art collection.  

 

Definitions

Cover Art
Archispeak: an Illustrated Guide to Architectural Design Terms - Tom Porter
London; New York, NY: Spon Press, 2004. An illustrated guide that will help people understand and communicate the the specialized language of architecture.

Decoding Theoryspeak: An Illustrated Guide to Architectural Theory - Enn Ots
Abingdon, Oxon; New York, NY: Routledge, 2011 Introduces over 200 specialized terms from design and theory; entries start with relevant quotations from established practitioners and dictionaries, and often include small black-and-white photos and diagrams.

 

Articles in Journals

To learn of an article in a journal on a topic that you are researching, you may need to use an index or bibliography. These tools can be searched like the library catalog using names, keywords, phrases, word combinations, etc. Different indexes may present the information in a variety of formats so you need to read the page carefully to determine how to proceed. Some indexes will only provide a CITATION to the article while others may provide a full-text version. If there is only a citation, look for the KULINK symbol to learn if there is a full-text online version, a paper copy in the library, or, if KU does not own, an option to borrow through Interlibrary Loan.

General indexes

Academic Search Complete Indexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals, with full text for more than 8,750 of those titles, over a broad spectrum of subjects.

Wilson OmniFile Full Text Select Provides indexing, abstracting and full-text content to journal articles in a variety of disciplines.

JSTOR (To access PDF articles, your browser must allow pop-ups for this site) Provides image and full-text online access of core academic journals in a variety of disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.

Architecture indexes

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, The most comprehensive index to journal literature in architecture, urban design, historic preservation, and urban planning history covering more than 700 U.S. and foreign journals. Updated weekly

Art IndexIndexes articles and illustrations in 313 international art, architecture and design periodicals from 1984-present. 

RIBA British Architectural Library. Catalogue. Includes an index to over 300 architectural periodicals held in the Royal Institute of British Architects as well as the catalog to the library's collection, the photograph collection, the drawing collection, the manuscript collection, and a biographical database of architects.
 

Web Directories

Websites organized by category and subcategory assembled by specialists in the subject field.  

Architecture and Building: Resource by Topic, Compiled by Jeanne Brown, Architecture Studies Librarian at the Architecture Studies Library at University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Topics covered include architecture, building and construction, design, housing, planning, preservation, facility management, energy and the environment, and landscape architecture.

Intute: Arts and Humanities, Directory of web resources available by keyword searching and browsing posted by staff at three British universities.   

Voice of the Shuttle, Directory of websites related to the Humanities with divisions such as Architecture, Art (Modern & Contemporary), Art History, etc.

Art & Architecture Librarian

Profile Image
Susan Craig
Contact Info
Phone: (785) 864-3020
Email: scraig@ku.edu
Location: Art & Architecture Library
 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip