This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Design Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Design Resources   Tags: design, images, interiors, materials, typography  

Basic sources for researching topics in visual communications, interior design, and industrial design.
Last Updated: Feb 24, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.ku.edu/Design Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

KU Library Catalog

KU Catalog Search collections available in all library locations at the Univ. of Kansas.

 

Other Library Catalogs

WorldCat, Includes millions of records describing items owned by OCLC member libraries, including the KU Libraries. 

Lawrence Public Library in Lawrence, KS Located at 7th & Vermont, this public library has a good art collection.  

 

General Information

International Directory of Design. Searchable directory of design institutions, events, and publications by specific subject and location.

InformeDesign. An extensive database of Research Summaries written for designers of the built environmentinterior designers, architects, landscape architects, urban designers, planners, graphic designers, code officials and policy makers. Free but users need to register. 

Cover Art
Doing Research in Design - Christopher Crouch; Jane Pearce
London: Berg, 2012. Provides guidance on the best methods to plan and conduct research in all areas of design.

Cover Art
Design and Designing: a Critical Introduction - Steve Garner (Editor); Chris Evans (Editor)
London : Berg Publishers, 2012. Covers the design process, modeling and drawing, working with clients, production and consumption, sustainability, professional practice and design futures.

 

Starting Points

Design and Applied Arts Index: The Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) contains over 130,000 annotated references from more than 500 design and craft journals and newspapers published from 1973 onwards, and data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms etc. Research articles are covered, along with topical news items, conference and seminar reports, and book, video and exhibition reviews. Each reference includes full bibliographic details and a brief abstract.  Updated monthly.

Art Full Text: Contains indexing and abstracting dating from 1984 for more than 600 periodicals and 13,000 dissertations on the subjects of art, architecture, urban planning, & design; journals are primarily but not exclusively English-language; full-text articles from over 300 journals dating from 1995; also indexes nearly 200,000 art reproductions that appear as illustrations for articles or advertisements. Can be combined with Art Index Retrospective to extend coverage to 1929.

ARTbibliographies Modern: ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides citations with abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art. Although some entries date back to the late 1960s, ABM's coverage generally begins in 1974 and includes art topics from the late 19th century onwards and photography since its invention in 1839. It includes abstracts of English and foreign-language material on famous and lesser-known artists, movements, and trends. ABM covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art, including performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theater arts, crafts, jewelry, illustration, as well as the traditional fine arts of painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.

 

KU Program

KU's Department of Design is part of the School of Architecture, Design and Planning (SADP). The Department offers an Undergraduate program leading to a BFA with a concentration in Graphic Design, Industrial Design, Environmental/Interior Design, Photomedia, Illustration & Animation. The Department offers graduate degrees in Design Management and Interaction Design. 

 

Histories

Cover

Journal of Design History, 1988-. Quarterly journal that provides a forum for new research and for addressing current issues of interest on a wide and interdisciplinary basis.  

Cover Art
History of Modern Design - David Raizman
2nd ed. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson Prentice Hall, c2011. A chronological survey of decorative arts, industrial design and graphic design from the eighteenth through the twentieth centuries.

Design History and the History of Design - John A. Walker
London: Pluto; Winchester, MA: Distributed in the USA by Unwin Hyman, 1989. An essential overview as well as a theoretical critique for all students of design history.

 

Biographies & Dictionaries

Arts:Search Includes Arts + Architecture ProFILES, a biographical dictionary of designers, architects, craftspeople, photographers, studios and other institutions. The largest and most comprehensive dictionary of design and designers available.

Oxford Art Online Gateway access to Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference resources. Includes more than 23,000 subject entries and 21,000 biographies.

Julier, Guy. The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Design since 1900. 2nd ed. Covers all aspects of modern design including graphics, products, interiors, furniture and industrial and architectural design.

Art & Architecture Librarian

Profile Image
Susan Craig
Contact Info
Phone: (785) 864-3020
Email: scraig@ku.edu
Location: Art & Architecture Library
 

Assistance

 

Web Directories

Websites organized by category and subcategory assembled by specialists in the subject field.  

Voice of the Shuttle, Directory of websites related to the Humanities with divisions such as Architecture, Art (Modern & Contemporary), Art History, etc.


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip