HathiTrust Help & Tutorials: HathiTrust Emergency Temporary Access (ETA) Service

This guide provides information on how to find and access resources in HathiTrust, a digital preservation repository that includes over ten million volumes from partner library collections.

Overview

The Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS) permits special access for HathiTrust member libraries that suffer an unexpected or involuntary, temporary disruption to normal operations, such as closure for a public health emergency like COVID-19, requiring the library to be closed to its patrons, or otherwise restrict print collection access services.

The service makes it possible for member library patrons to obtain lawful access to specific full-text digital materials in HathiTrust that correspond to physical books held by the library. These items may be protected by copyright law but are made available as Temporary Access due to involuntary closure of your library. No further reproduction or distribution is permitted by any means without the permission of the copyright holder.

More information for users accessing items through HathiTrust ETAS can be found at https://www.hathitrust.org/ETAS-User-Information

 

KU and HathiTrust ETA Service

KU Students, Faculty, and Staff who have signed in using their KU Online ID may access a digitized copy that matches KU Libraries holdings in HathiTrust. Available items will be shown in the Libraries' Quick Search results and Library Catalog records as Full Text available at Hathi Trust

Record display of HathiTrust full text access.

 

Library Catalog Search Result

 

While the link to Recall/Request the physical item also appears as Available in the resulting record, HathiTrust ETA available items can not be delivered through Home Loan Delivery at this time. 

Unfortunately, this service is not available to alumni/alumnae or individuals who have guest affiliations.
 

Using the HathiTrust ETAS

Log in with your KU Online ID
You must be logged into HathiTrust to access the ETAS items.

HathiTrust ETAS e-books have the label “Temporary Access"
Through KU's membership with HathiTrust, you can also get access to books that are marked “Full View”, just as you always do. Books marked “Limited (search-only)” are restricted based on the Terms of the Service, and you cannot access them.

In the HathiTrust ETAS record, under Viewability go to Item Link and click Temporary Access

Check out an item only when you plan to use it.
Clicking the Temporary Access link will provide a new screen with a Check Out button in the upper right corner of the page. Each Temporary Access book has an initial check-out period of 60 minutes. If you remain active in the book during any session, access time will be extended. If you do not remain active, it will be released for use by other users.

Click the Return Early Button when  you are done viewing an item to make it available for others to use.

undefined

Downloading is not available.
These restrictions are in place based on the Terms of the Service and copyright law. See Other Options for Full-Text Delivery.

Access to ETAS books is available for 1 hour at a time.
Your access will renew automatically at the end of that hour, unless another user requests the book after that hour is over. 

Access to items is 1 user-1 copy-1 time.
Each university or library has access only to the number of digital copies that the library has in the print collection.  If the library holds only 1 print copy on the shelves, then only 1 user affiliated with your university can access the digital book in HathiTrust at a time.

Viewing Tips for ETAS items

The default view for HathiTrust ETAS items is Page-by-Page vertical scroll.  However, the right hand tool offers a number of alternative views that can approximate or faciliate access the whole book contents.

The View Thumbnails feature allows you to click into different section pages throughout the entire book (e.g. table of contents to specific pages). 

undefined

Use the Flip Page Scans feature to approximate the reading experience of the physical book page by page.

 

Need help? Ask a Librarian!

Ask a Librarian

We can help with your research questions -- contact us by chat, phone, email, text or at a Research Help desk.

Other Options for Full-Text Delivery