MIND MAPS
- Mind mapMind maps can help you brainstorm and organize your thoughts before you search. This is a mind map template. See the example for how to create and use a mind map.
SEARCH TIPS
- Literature searchingThis handout walks you through the steps of a literature search.
- Boolean operators and other searching tipsThis handouts explains basic searching tips using Boolean operators for effective database searching.
SEARCH LOG
- Search logThis simple table can help you keep track of your searches. Feel free to modify it for your needs.
VIDEOS
- Keywords video transcriptClick this link to see the Keywords video transcript.
- Quick Search video transcriptClick this link to see the transcript for the Quick Search video.
STRESS BUSTING COLORING
- Color Our Collections: Biodiversity Heritage Library
Download and color images from the Biodiversity Heritage Library collection. - Color Our Collections: The National Archives of the United States
Download and color images from the National Archives of the United States collection. - Color Our CollectionsCheck out other coloring pages from Open Culture's color our collections campaign.
READING ACADEMIC ARTICLES
- How to read a scientific articleThis handout is a quick guide to reading scientific articles.
- How to read (and understand) a social science journal articleThis handout by Frederique Laubepin (2013) for the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research lays out different ways to ready social science/academic articles.
- How to Read a Scientific Article: Note taking templateThis resource created by Mary Purugganan and Jan Hewitt for the Cain Project in Engineering and Professional Communication provides information on reading scientific papers and a note taking template. Feel free to adapt the template in a way the works best for you.