Spanish 442 - Transpacific encounters: exchanges between Asia and Latin America
Books available in print at KU Libraries
Chinese Cubans : a transnational history by Publication Date: 2013- De dónde son los cantantes byPublication Date: 1996
Casta painting : images of race in eighteenth-century Mexico by Publication Date: 2004
Slow art : the experience of looking, sacred images to James Turrell by Publication Date: 2017- Un cuento chino en Costa Rica : la construcción del Estadio Nacional byPublication Date: 2021
- Contribución a la Historia de la gente sin historia byPublication Date: 1974
- Los chinos en las luchas por la liberación cubana, 1847-1930 byPublication Date: 1963Illustrations, facsimiles, portraits.
Inventing Indigenism : Francisco Laso’s image of modern Peru by ISBN: 1477324089Publication Date: 2021
Circles and Circuits : Chinese Caribbean art by Publication Date: 2018
Japanese Brazilian Saudades : diasporic identities & cultural production by Publication Date: 2019
From the Tricontinental to the Global South : race, radicalism, and transnational solidarity by Publication Date: 2018"Todos los negros y todos los blancos y todos tomamos café? : racial politics in the "Latin, African" nation
Hijas Del Muntu : biografías críticas de mujeres afrodescendientes de América Latina by Publication Date: 2011- José Martí, nuestra América y el equilibrio internacional byPublication Date: 2015
- Nuestra América byPublication Date: 1978
Moros en la Costa : orientalismo en Latinoamérica by Publication Date: 2008- Las recetas de Rosita Yimura : la cocina nikkei y algo más / recetas escritas = Rosita Yimura’s mouth-watering recipes : Japanese-Peruvian cooking and other specialties byPublication Date: 1995Peru. In Spanish and English.
Eating Puerto Rico: a history of food, culture, and identity by Publication Date: 2013
Delicious Geography : from place to plate / by Publication Date: 2017- Brazilian food : race, class and identity in regional cuisines byPublication Date: 2012
E-books available through KU Libraries
Western Visions of the Far East in a Transpacific Age, 1522-1657 by Publication Date: 2012- Los ingenios: colección de vistas de los principles ingenios de azúcar de la isla de Cuba byPublication Date: 1857Collection of illustrations.
(Project Gutenberg) - Asian Slaves in Colonial Mexico : from chinos to Indians byPublication Date: 2014
The Coolie Speaks : Chinese indentured laborers and African slaves in Cuba by Publication Date: 2008
Afro-Asian Connections in Latin America and the Caribbean by Publication Date: 2019
South Asian Writers, Latin American Literature, and the Rise of Global English by Publication Date: 2022- The Chinese in Latin America and the Caribbean byPublication Date: 2010
- La Representación de Asia en las Letras Modernas Hispanoamericanas byPublication Date: 2008
Databases and Journals
- PRISMA Database with HAPI Index This link opens in a new windowProvides 165 full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin. Articles are in English, Spanish and Portuguese, and examine all aspects of Hispanic Studies. Works together and complements HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index). Also offers full-text key titles indexed by HAPI.
- Google Scholar (includes Get at KU) This link opens in a new windowA web search engine that provides a way to search the scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions. Sources include academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites.
- MLA international bibliography (Ebsco)Provides a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage includes literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access of core academic journals in a variety of disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
- Cambridge Histories This link opens in a new windowThis electronic version of Cambridge Histories contains over 300 volumes and all the titles published to date in this series. These detailed histories cover all aspects of the humanities and social sciences and are an excellent place to learn basic knowledge of important subjects.
- Cambridge Companions This link opens in a new windowCambridge Companions searches across the Companions for Literature and Classics; Philosophy, Religion, and Culture; and Music.
- SciELO : scientific electronic library online This link opens in a new windowAn electronic virtual library covering a selected collection of scientific journals of Latin America, the Caribbean countries and Spain. The full-text content is in English, Portuguese and/or Spanish.
- Directory of open access journals : DOAJ This link opens in a new windowCovers free, full text, quality controlled scholarly journals covering all subjects and languages.
- Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996From firsthand reporting in refugee camps to government-level analysis on migration patterns, this resource covers controversial issues such as ethnic friction and xenophobia, religious movements, border issues, the treatment of refugees and more.
- Cuadernos de literatura del Caribe e Hispanoamérica.Variant title: Literatura del Caribe e Hispanoamérica (LCH)
- Inti : revista de cultura hispánica.Variant Title: Revista de literatura hispánica
Revista de cultura hispánica
Video
- Jeronimo byPublication Date: 2019
Programa de radio y podcasts
- Negra Como YoEpisodio 34 - Periodista Afroperuana, Sofia Carrillo
Finding photos and images
- Images and PhotosThis page contains information about which databases are most helpful for locating images.
- Art History: Finding imagesThis page contains information about locating art images.
- The New York Public Library Digital CollectionsThe NYPL Digital Collections has a vast archive of images in the public domain, which means you can use and reuse the images any way you like.
